Annex to the Statement of Management Responsibility Including Internal Control over Financial Reporting

Office of the Registrar of the Supreme Court of Canada for Fiscal Year 2012-2013 (unaudited)

1. Introduction

In support of an effective system of internal control, the Office of the Registrar of the Supreme Court of Canada (Office) annually assesses the performance of its financial controls to ensure:

  • financial arrangements or contracts are entered into only when sufficient funding is available;
  • payments for goods and services are made only when the goods or services are received or the conditions of contracts or other arrangements have been satisfied; and
  • payments have been properly authorized.

The Office will leverage the results of the periodic Core Control Audit performed by the Office of the Comptroller General. This Audit is currently scheduled for fiscal year 2014-2015. Below is a summary of the results of the assessment conducted during fiscal year 2012-2013.

2. Assessment Results during fiscal year 2012-2013

As planned in the Office's 2011-2012 annex, the documentation of business processes and design effectiveness testing for Capital Assets and Financial Closing and Reporting was completed in 2012-2013. The results of this assessment indicated that key controls are in place and are functioning as intended.

In addition, controls related to payment for goods and services and payment authority were, for the most part, functioning well and form an adequate basis for the Office's system of internal control. 

3. Assessment Plan

In addition to completing the IT General Controls documentation in 2013-2014, the Office will continue to monitor the performance of its system of internal control with a focus on the core controls related to financial transactions.

Annexe à la Déclaration de responsabilité de la direction englobant le contrôle interne en matière de rapports financiers

Bureau du registraire de la Cour suprême du Canada pour l'exercice 2012-2013 (non auditée)

1. Introduction

À l'appui d'un système efficace de contrôle interne, le Bureau du registraire de la Cour suprême du Canada (Bureau) évalue annuellement le rendement de ses contrôles financiers afin d'assurer que :

  • les dispositions financières ou les marchés ne sont conclus que lorsque les fonds sont suffisants;
  • les paiements pour les biens et les services sont effectués seulement lorsque les biens ou les services sont reçus ou que les modalités du marché ou d'autres ententes sont satisfaites;
  • les paiements ont été autorisés comme il se doit.

Le Bureau tirera parti des résultats de l'audit périodique des contrôles de base mené par le Bureau du contrôleur général.  Cet audit est présentement prévu pour l'année fiscale 2014-2015.  Vous trouverez ci-dessous un résumé des résultats de l'évaluation effectuée au cours de l'exercice 2012-2013.

2. Résultats de l'évaluation au cours de l'exercice 2012-2013

Comme prévu dans l'annexe de 2011-2012 du Bureau, la documentation et les tests de l'efficacité de conception des processus des immobilisations et de la clôture financière des rapports ont été complétés en 2012-2013.  Les résultats de cette évaluation indiquent que les mécanismes de contrôle sont en place et fonctionnent comme prévu.

De plus, les contrôles relatifs au paiement de biens et services et aux pouvoirs de paiement fonctionnaient bien, pour la plupart, et constituent une base appropriée pour le système de contrôle interne du Bureau.

3. Plan d'évaluation

Le Bureau complétera non seulement la documentation des contrôles généraux de la TI (CGTI) en 2013-2014, mais il continuera également à surveiller la performance de son système de contrôle interne en mettant l'accent sur les contrôles de base relatifs aux transactions financières.