Quarterly Financial Report for the Quarter Ended September 30, 2011

The Office of the Registrar of the Supreme Court of Canada

1. Introduction

This quarterly financial report has been prepared by management as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board (TB). This quarterly report should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates and approved allotment transfers from Treasury Board Central Votes. It has not been subject to an external audit or review.

1.1 Authority, Mandate and Program Activities

Created by an Act of Parliament in 1875, the Supreme Court of Canada is Canada's final court of appeal. It serves Canadians by deciding legal issues of public importance, thereby contributing to the development of all branches of law applicable within Canada. The independence of the Court, the quality of its work and the esteem in which it is held both in Canada and abroad contribute significantly as foundations for a secure, strong and democratic country founded on the Rule of Law. In accordance with the Supreme Court Act, the Supreme Court of Canada consists of the Chief Justice and the eight puisne judges. The Supreme Court of Canada is an important national institution, positioned at the pinnacle of the judicial branch of government in Canada.

The Office of the Registrar of the Supreme Court of Canada (Office) provides all necessary services and support for the Court to process, hear and decide cases.  It also serves as the interface between litigants and the Court.

Further details on the Office's authority, mandate and program activities may be found in its Report on Plans and Priorities 2011-2012.

1.2 Basis of Presentation

This quarterly report has been prepared by management using an expenditure basis of accounting. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes the Office's spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the Office, consistent with the Main Estimates and approved allotment transfers from Treasury Board Central Votes for the 2011-12 fiscal year. This quarterly report has been prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before moneys can be spent by the Government. Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes.

When Parliament is dissolved for the purposes of a general election, section 30 of the Financial Administration Act authorizes the Governor General, under certain conditions, to issue a special warrant authorizing the Government to withdraw funds from the Consolidated Revenue Fund. A special warrant is deemed to be an appropriation for the fiscal year in which it is issued.

The Office uses the full accrual method of accounting to prepare and present its annual departmental financial statements that are part of the departmental performance reporting process. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

2. Highlights of Fiscal Quarter and Fiscal Year to Date Results

This section highlights the changes in authorities provided and expenditures incurred as at September 30, 2011 compared to the same quarter of the prior year.  Overall, the Office's authorities increased by 4% while the quarterly spending decreased by 3% over the same quarter ending September 30, 2010. The overall proportion of authorities used on a year-to-date basis (43%), is in line with that of the previous year (45%).

Changes to Granted Authorities

As at September 30, 2011, the total authorities provided to the Office of the Registrar of the Supreme Court of Canada increased by $1,178,219, compared to the same quarter of the prior year.  This net increase consists of an increase in:

Previously reported:

  • Vote 50 – Net Operating Expenditures ($84,146);
  • Budgetary Statutory authorities ($229,639).

Current quarter:

  • Vote 50 – Net Operating Expenditures ($864,434).

As indicated in the Statement of Authorities, the increase in Vote 50 – Net Operating Expenditures ($864,434) in the second quarter of 2011-12 consists of:

  • Permanent allocation from TB Vote 30 (Paylist Requirements) in 2011-12 ($834,712); and
  • Permanent allocation from TB Vote 25 (Operating Budget Carry forward) in 2011-12 ($1,081,598). The operating carry forward for 2010-11 amounted to $1,051,876, which represents a net increase in authorities of $29,722 for 2011-12.

It is to be noted that for the 2010-11 fiscal year, the paylist requirements (TB Vote 30) were granted to the Office in the third quarter of the fiscal year, thus causing a timing difference in the receipt of these funds when comparing both quarters for the purposes of this financial report.

Changes to Planned Expenditures

The process for allocating planned expenditures in the Main Estimates is based on proportioning prior year actual expenditures against the total authorities available for use for the given year. For instance, if professional services represented 20% of the total operating expenditures of 2009-10, then the same ratio of 20% is used to determine the planned expenditures for 2011-12.

A significant variance between planned expenditures in 2010-11 and 2011-12 was noted in "Other Subsidies and Payments" (total variance of $1,917,452). This is due to the fact that depreciation, which is part of "Other Subsidies and Payments", was included in the total allocation of planned expenditures for 2010-11.  Given that the Main Estimates are based on an expenditure basis of accounting, as opposed to an accrual basis, the depreciation expense was removed in the allocation of the 2011-12 planned expenditures. The funding that was previously allocated to depreciation was reallocated to other standard objects of expenditures for 2011-12, which explains the variances noted in the other categories of planned expenditures.

The operating carry forward, which was received in the second quarter for both fiscal years, was allocated in proportion to the allocation used for the Main Estimates. Other than the variance arising from the allocation of depreciation for 2010-11 (as noted above), there were no other significant variances to be noted in planned expenditures.

Significant Changes to Budgetary Expenditures

As at September 30, 2011, the total net budgetary expenditures increased by 1% ($134,109) compared to the same quarter of the previous year. This variance is comprised of:

Previously reported:

  • An increase of 6% ($366,571) in net budgetary expenditures;

Current quarter:

  • A decrease of 3% ($232,462) in net budgetary expenditures explained by:
    • An increase (17%) in Vote 50 – Net Operating Expenditures; and
    • A decrease (64%) in Budgetary Statutory spending.

The increase of 17% ($929,216) was noted in the total operating expenditures (Vote 50) in comparison to the same quarter of the previous year. The variance between both quarters is attributed to:

  • A $734,643 salary increase resulting from:
    • The immediate settlement of the severance pay and termination benefits ($619,388 or 67%) arising from the revision to specified collective agreements; and
    • Other miscellaneous salary increases amounting to $115,255 (12%).
  • A $194,573 non-salary increase resulting from:
    • Timing differences in informatics acquisitions and services between both quarters, among which the laptop replacement program represents 9% ($84,726), and other computer services, 3% ($26,366) of the total variance;
    • Newly-acquired IT contracts representing an increase of $41,866 (5%); and
    • Timing differences on the settlement of acquired goods and services for the remaining variance ($41,615 or 4%).

The decrease of 64% ($1,161,678) was noted in the total Budgetary Statutory expenditures:

  • As previously disclosed, system generated salary accruals ($756,764) were accrued in error in the first quarter of 2011-12. These accruals generated erroneously in June 2011 were subsequently reversed in July 2011, thus causing a large decrease in total statutory expenditures.
  • There was a delay in processing the quarterly statutory pension expenses ($460,949) in the second quarter of 2011-12, causing a variance when comparing with the same quarter of 2010-11. This should be resolved in the third quarter of 2011-12.
  • These expense reductions were offset by general operating increases in other statutory expenditures, for a net decrease of $1.1M.

Other expenditure categories (for both operating and statutory) have remained fairly stable in comparison to the same quarter of the previous year.

Figure 1: Comparison of Authorities Granted and Used

Comparison of Authorities Granted and Used as of September 30, 2010 and 2011

Description of image

Comparison of Authorities Granted and Used – The diagram illustrates the variation in thousands of dollars between 2010-11 and 2011-12 for Annual Net Budgetary Authorities granted, year to date used, authorities used – Vote 50 – Net Operating Expenditures and authorities used – Budgetary Statutory Authorities as at September 30, 2010 and 2011.

Annual Net Budgetary Authorities Granted – Figures showing the amounts the Office planned to spend as at September 30, 2010 and 2011 respectively: $30,453,106 and $31,631,325.

Year to Date Used – Figures present the cumulative amounts the Office received as at September 30, 2010 and 2011 respectively: $13,602,239 and $13,736,348.

Authorities Used – Vote 50 – Net Operating Expenditures – Figures showing the amounts the Office received for the second quarter of 2010-11 and 2011-12 respectively: $5,364,092 and $6,293,308.

Authorities Used – Budgetary Statutory Authorities – Figures showing the amounts the Office received for the second quarter of 2010-11 and 2011-12 respectively: $1,814,122 and $652,444.

3. Risks and Uncertainties

This Departmental Quarterly Financial Report reflects the results of the current fiscal period in relation to the Main Estimates for which full supply was released on June 27, 2011.

The Office of the Registrar of the Supreme Court of Canada is funded through voted parliamentary spending authorities (75%) and statutory authorities (25%) for operating and personnel expenditures. The authorities have remained fairly stable over time, with slight variations due to the settlement of collective agreements and other mandatory paylist requirements.  

Although stable funding has enabled the Office to predict future resources, the Office has also had to absorb increased operational costs and investments in strategic priorities within the existing reference levels.

For instance, significant investments were made over the last four years in modernizing the Courtroom and enhancing electronic access to the public and litigants. Notwithstanding these changes, paper-based processes continue to be required and will continue as such for the foreseeable future, with attendant costs. Although the Office has mitigated this risk by establishing renewed governance, and by grouping four core branches into one Court Operations Sector, efficiencies will take time to harness and the increased costs are for the moment absorbed within existing reference levels.

The Office mitigates its overall risks by integrating risk management strategies with annual and long term business planning. A Corporate Risk Profile is also developed and updated annually. Funding priorities are carefully assessed and a risk based approach is used in determining a funding allocation formula that optimizes the available resources. Future investments are also identified and prioritized using a risk-based formula and form part of the Office's investment plan.

Budget 2010 announced that departments and agencies would not be funded for the 2010-2011 to 2012-2013 wage and salary increases resulting from collective agreements. Since departments and agencies must pay the resulting salary increases to employees, organizations are expected to find efficiencies within their operating vote to fund these increases. The financial impact on the Office of this government-wide initiative was $104,289 in 2010-2011 and is estimated at $130,000 for 2011-12. The Office has accommodated this reduction in funding for 2010-11 and 2011-12 without significantly impacting its operations. In addition to these budgetary measures, the Office has also had to absorb a permanent reference level reduction of $132,667 for collective agreements effective 2011-12. Management is reviewing various options to address the planned funding reductions for fiscal year 2012-2013.

The Office's most significant expenditure is for personnel, representing 70% of its planned expenditures. Over the last few years, the Office has faced a higher level of attrition that is expected to continue for the next couple years, especially due to retirement. An ongoing challenge for the Office is to maintain staffing at a level sufficient to compensate for departures. Given the Office's small size, the departure or hiring of a few employees in one quarter can have a significant impact on the quarter's expenditures and resource management. Despite the level of attrition, the Office has maintained fairly stable personnel costs between both quarters.

4. Significant Changes to Operations, Personnel and Programs

The Supreme Court of Canada has experienced changes in the second quarter of the current fiscal year with the departure of two of its Justices. The financial impact of these changes, although insignificant in the second quarter, will be assessed in the next quarterly financial report.

A new Deputy Registrar was appointed on June 29, 2011 and officially started working for the Office in July 2011. The financial impact of this appointment is limited to the salary being disbursed as opposed to the first quarter when the position was vacant.

There were no changes in the Office's program over this reporting period.

Approval by Senior Officials

Approved by:

 

Roger Bilodeau, Q.C., Registrar
Ottawa, Ontario
November 25, 2011

 

Catherine Laforce, Chief Financial Officer

 

Statement of Authorities (unaudited)
(in dollars)

  Fiscal year 2011-2012
Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2012* Used during the quarter ended September 30, 2011 Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 50 - Net Operating expenditures 23,632,411 6,293,308 10,895,376
Budgetary statutory authorities 7,998,914 652,444 2,840,972
 
Total authorities 31,631,325 6,945,752 13,736,348

 

  Fiscal year 2010-2011
Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2011* Used during the quarter ended September 30, 2010 Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 50 - Net Operating expenditures 22,683,831 5,364,092 10,422,388
Budgetary statutory authorities 7,769,275 1,814,122 3,179,851
 
Total authorities 30,453,106 7,178,214 13,602,239

* Includes only Authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter-end.

Departmental Budgetary Expenditures by Standard Object (unaudited)
(in dollars)

  Fiscal year 2011-2012
Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2012 Expended during the quarter ended September 30, 2011 Year to date used at quarter-end
Expenditures
Personnel 22,094,037 5,520,277 11,432,969
Transportation and communications 1,791,843 346,307 538,786
Information 269,220 57,337 58,377
Professional and special services 3,483,852 509,763 860,166
Rentals 332,052 24,985 60,616
Repair and maintenance 424,792 28,394 40,483
Utilities, materials and supplies 2,104,939 282,000 533,755
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 1,130,590 171,248 206,500
Other subsidies and payments - 5,441 4,696
 
Total net budgetary expenditures 31,631,325 6,945,752 13,736,348

 

  Fiscal year 2010-2011
Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2011 Expended during the quarter ended September 30, 2010 Year to date used at quarter-end
Expenditures
Personnel 20,945,540 5,969,736 11,452,023
Transportation and communications 1,236,267 405,219 599,102
Information 156,263 19,751 24,221
Professional and special services 2,564,966 426,200 815,545
Rentals 184,044 54,435 95,609
Repair and maintenance 754,903 10,950 24,021
Utilities, materials and supplies 1,392,727 279,282 548,483
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 1,300,944 28,273 43,282
Other subsidies and payments 1,917,452 (15,632) (47)
 
Total net budgetary expenditures 30,453,106 7,178,214 13,602,239

Rapport financier trimestriel pour le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2011

Bureau du registraire de la Cour suprême du Canada

1. Introduction

Ce rapport financier trimestriel a été préparé par la direction, tel qu'exigé par l'article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, et selon les modalités prescrites par le Conseil du Trésor (CT). Ce rapport devrait être lu de concert avec le budget principal des dépenses et les transferts d'affectation approuvés des crédits centraux du Conseil du Trésor. Il n'a pas fait l'objet d'une vérification externe ou d'un examen.

1.1 Compétence, mandat et activités de programme

Créée par une loi du Parlement en 1875, la Cour suprême du Canada est la juridiction d'appel de dernier ressort du pays. Elle sert les Canadiens en tranchant des questions de droit d'importance pour le public, contribuant ainsi à l'évolution de toutes les branches du droit au Canada. L'indépendance de la Cour, la qualité de ses travaux et le respect qu'on lui porte, tant ici qu'à l'étranger, sont autant d'éléments qui contribuent grandement aux fondements d'un pays fort, sécuritaire et démocratique, fondé sur la primauté du droit. Aux termes de la Loi sur la Cour suprême, la Cour suprême du Canada se compose de la juge en chef et de huit juges puînés. La Cour suprême du Canada est une importante institution nationale, qui occupe le sommet du pouvoir judiciaire de l'État canadien.

Le Bureau du registraire de la Cour suprême du Canada (ci-après le Bureau) fournit à la Cour tous les services et l'appui dont elle a besoin pour traiter, entendre et trancher les affaires qui lui sont soumises. Il agit également comme interface entre les plaideurs et la Cour.

Vous trouverez un complément d'information sur la compétence, le mandat et les activités de programme du Bureau dans son rapport sur les plans et priorités 2011-2012.

1.2 Méthode de présentation du rapport

Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé par la direction en utilisant une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses. L'état des autorisations joint à ce rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenser du Bureau accordées par le Parlement et utilisées par le Bureau, de manière cohérente avec le budget principal des dépenses et les transferts d'affectation approuvés des crédits centraux du Conseil du Trésor pour l'exercice 2011-2012. Ce rapport financier trimestriel a été préparé en utilisant un référentiel à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d'information financière à l'égard de l'utilisation des autorisations de dépenser.

Le gouvernement ne peut dépenser sans l'autorisation préalable du Parlement. Les autorisations sont accordées par l'entremise de lois de crédits, sous forme de limites annuelles, ou par l'entremise de lois sous forme de pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins déterminées.

Lorsque le Parlement est dissous pour la tenue d'une élection générale, l'article 30 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques autorise le gouverneur général, sous certaines conditions, à émettre un mandat spécial autorisant le gouvernement à retirer des fonds du Trésor. Un mandat spécial est considéré comme un crédit relatif à l'exercice au cours duquel il a été établi.

Le Bureau utilise la méthode de la comptabilité d'exercice intégrale pour la préparation de ses états financiers annuels qui font partie du processus de rapport sur le rendement ministériel. Toutefois, les pouvoirs de dépenser votés par le Parlement demeurent fondés sur la méthode de comptabilité axée sur les dépenses.

2. Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs

Cette section met en relief les changements survenus dans les autorisations fournies et les dépenses engagées en date du 30 septembre 2011, comparativement au même trimestre de l'année précédente. Globalement, les autorisations du Bureau ont augmenté de 4 %, tandis que les dépenses trimestrielles ont diminué de 3 % par rapport au même trimestre se terminant le 30 septembre 2010. La proportion des autorisations utilisées sur une base cumulative (43 %) correspond sensiblement à celle de l'année précédente (45 %).

Changements survenus dans les autorisations accordées

Au 30 septembre 2011, les autorisations totales accordées au Bureau du registraire de la Cour suprême du Canada ont augmenté de 1 178 219 $, par rapport au même trimestre de l'année précédente. Cette augmentation nette correspond aux augmentations suivantes :

Trimestre précédent :

  • Crédit 50 – Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement (84 146 $);
  • Autorisations législatives budgétaires (229 639 $).

Trimestre en cours :

  • Crédit 50 – Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement (864 434 $).

Comme l'indique l'état des autorisations, l'augmentation du Crédit 50 – Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement (864 434 $) pour le deuxième trimestre de 2011-2012 provient des éléments suivants :

  • affectation permanente du Crédit 30 du CT (besoins en matière de rémunération) en 2011-2012 (834 712 $);
  • affectation permanente du Crédit 25 du CT (Report du budget de fonctionnement) en 2011-2012 (1 081 598 $). Le report de fonds de fonctionnement pour 2010-2011 a totalisé 1 051 876 $, soit une augmentation nette des autorisations de 29 722 $ pour 2011-2012.

Il convient de noter qu'en 2010-2011, les fonds au titre des besoins en matière de rémunération (Crédit 30 du CT) ont été accordés au Bureau dans le troisième trimestre de l'exercice, de sorte que la comparaison des deux trimestres aux fins du présent rapport a révélé un écart temporaire quant à la réception de ces fonds.

Changements aux dépenses prévues

Le processus d'affectation des dépenses prévues dans le budget principal des finances est fondé sur l'établissement de la proportion des dépenses réelles antérieures par rapport aux autorisations totales disponibles pour l'année en question. Par exemple, si les services professionnels ont représenté 20 % des dépenses totales de fonctionnement en 2009-2010, alors le même ratio de 20 % est utilisé pour calculer les dépenses prévues en 2011-2012.

Un important écart entre les dépenses prévues de 2010-2011 et celles de 2011-2012 a été constaté au poste « Autres subventions et paiements » (écart totalisant 1 917 452 $). Cet écart s'explique par le fait que l'amortissement, intégré à « Autres subventions et paiements », a été inclus dans l'affectation totale des dépenses prévues pour 2010-2011. Le budget principal des dépenses étant fondé sur une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses, et non sur la comptabilité d'exercice, la dépense pour amortissement a été retirée de l'affectation des dépenses prévues pour 2011-2012. Les fonds précédemment prévus pour l'amortissement ont été réaffectés à d'autres articles de dépense standard pour 2011-2012, ce qui explique les écarts relevés dans d'autres catégories des dépenses prévues.

Les fonds reportés du budget de fonctionnement, reçus au deuxième trimestre pour les deux exercices, ont été affectés proportionnellement à l'affectation prévue au budget principal des dépenses. Outre l'écart découlant des affectations des dépenses pour amortissement pour 2010-2011 (mentionné précédemment), aucun autre écart important n'a été observé dans les dépenses prévues.

Changements importants aux dépenses budgétaires

En date du 30 septembre 2011,les dépenses budgétaires totales nettesont augmenté de 1 % (134 109 $), comparativement au même trimestre de l'année précédente. Cet écart découle des éléments suivants :

Trimestre précédent :

  • une augmentation de 6 % (366 571 $) des dépenses budgétaires nettes.

Trimestre en cours :

  • une diminution de 3 % (232 462 $) des dépenses budgétaires nettes suscitée par :
    • une augmentation de 17 % au poste du Crédit 50 – Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement;
    • une diminution de 64 % au poste des dépenses législatives budgétaires.

Une hausse de 17 % (929 216 $) des dépenses totales de fonctionnement (Crédit 50) a été constatée par rapport au même trimestre de l'année précédente. L'écart entre les deux trimestres est attribuable aux éléments suivants :

  • une augmentation salariale de 734 643 $ suscitée par :
    • le règlement immédiat des indemnités de départ et des prestations de cessation d'emploi (619 388 $ ou 67 %) par suite de la révision de certaines conventions collectives;
    • d'autres augmentations de salaire diverses totalisant 115 255 $ (12 %).
  • une augmentation non salariale de 194 573 $ suscitée par :
    • des écarts temporaires entre les deux trimestres relativement à l'acquisition de produits et services informatiques, le programme de remplacement des ordinateurs portables étant à l'origine de 9 % (84 726 $) de l'écart total et les services informatiques, de 3 % (26 366 $);
    • des nouveaux contrats de TI, représentant une augmentation de 41 866 $ (5 %);
    • des écarts temporaires quant au règlement de biens et services acquis, qui sont à l'origine de l'écart restant (41  615  $ ou 4 %).

Une diminution de 64 % (1 161 678 $) au poste des dépenses législatives budgétaires a été observée :

  • Comme il a été précédemment divulgué, les ajustements aux salaires générés par le système (756 764 $) étaient erronés au premier trimestre de 2011-2012. Ces ajustements générés erronément en juin 2011 ont été annulés par la suite en juillet 2011, ce qui a entraîné une diminution importante des dépenses législatives totales.
  • Au deuxième trimestre de 2011-2012, le traitement des charges de retraite législatives trimestrielles (460 949 $) a été retardé, ce qui a créé un écart par rapport au même trimestre de l'année 2010-2011. La situation devrait se rétablir au troisième trimestre de 2011-2012.
  • Ces réductions de dépenses ont été neutralisées par des hausses générales d'autres dépenses de fonctionnement législatives, la diminution nette étant de 1,1 million de dollars.

Les autres catégories de dépenses (tant les dépenses de fonctionnement que les dépenses législatives) sont demeurées relativement stables en comparaison au même trimestre de l'année précédente.  

Tableau 1 : Comparaison des autorisations accordées et des crédits utilisés

Comparaison des autorisations accordées et des crédits utilisés aux 30 septembre 2010 et 2011

Description de l'image

Comparaison des autorisations accordées et des crédits utilisés – Le diagramme illustre les variations entre 2010-2011 et 2011-2012, en milliers de dollars, des autorisations budgétaires nettes annuelles accordées, du cumul des crédits utilisés, des crédits utilisés – Crédit 50 – Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement et des crédits utilisés – Autorisations législatives budgétaires aux 30 septembre 2010 et 2011.

Autorisations budgétaires nettes annuelles accordées – Les chiffres indiquent les montants que le Bureau a prévu de dépenser aux 30 septembre 2010 et 2011 respectivement : 30 453 106 $ et 31 631 325 $.

Cumul des crédits utilisés – Les chiffres indiquent les montants cumulatifs reçus par le Bureau aux 30 septembre 2010 et 2011 respectivement : 13 602 239 $ et 13 736 348 $.

Crédits utilisés – Crédit 50 – Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement – Les chiffres présentent les montants reçus par le Bureau pour les deuxièmes trimestres de 2010-2011 et 2011-12 respectivement : 5 364 092 $ et 6 293 308 $.

Crédits utilisés – Autorisations législatives budgétaires – Les chiffres présentent les montants reçus par le Bureau pour les deuxièmes trimestres de 2010-2011 et 2011-2012 respectivement : 1 814 122 $ et 652 444 $.

3. Risques et incertitudes

Le présent rapport financier trimestriel présente les résultats de la période financière en cours par rapport au budget principal des dépenses pour lequel la totalité des crédits a été dévoilée le 27 juin 2011.

Le Bureau du registraire de la Cour suprême du Canada est financé au moyen d'autorisations de pouvoir de dépenser votées par le Parlement (75 %) et d'autorisations législatives (25 %) pour les dépenses consacrées au fonctionnement et au personnel. Ces autorisations sont demeurées relativement stables au fil du temps, et les légers écarts relevés sont attribuables au règlement de conventions collectives et à d'autres exigences obligatoires relatives à la paye.

Un financement stable a permis au Bureau de prévoir ses futures ressources, mais celui-ci a également dû absorber une augmentation des coûts et des investissements de fonctionnement touchant les priorités stratégiques à même les niveaux de référence existants.

Par exemple, d'importants investissements ont été consacrés à la modernisation de la salle d'audience et à l'amélioration de l'accès électronique pour le public et les plaideurs au cours des quatre dernières années. Malgré ces changements, il est toujours nécessaire de conserver des procédés basés sur des documents physiques et il sera ainsi pour le futur prévisible, avec les coûts afférents. Bien que le Bureau ait réduit ce risque grâce à un renouvellement de sa gouvernance, au regroupement de quatre directions principales en un Secteur des opérations de la Cour, les économies ne sont pas encore au rendez-vous. Pour le moment, l'augmentation des coûts est absorbée à même les niveaux de référence actuels.

Le Bureau réduit ses risques globaux en intégrant des stratégies de gestion du risque à la planification annuelle et à long terme des activités. Un profil de risque de l'organisation est élaboré et mis à jour chaque année. Les priorités de financement sont soigneusement évaluées, et une démarche axée sur le risque sert à déterminer une formule de répartition des fonds visant à optimiser les ressources disponibles. Les investissements futurs sont également prévus et classés par ordre de priorité au moyen d'une formule axée sur le risque et ils font partie intégrante du plan d'investissement du Bureau.

Le budget de 2010 mentionnait que les ministères et organismes ne recevraient aucun financement pour les augmentations de salaire et d'émoluments de 2010-2011 à 2012-2013 résultant des conventions collectives. Comme les ministères et organismes doivent payer les augmentations de salaire en question aux employés, on s'attend à ce que les organisations réalisent des économies à même leurs crédits de dépenses de fonctionnement pour financer ces augmentations. La conséquence financière de cette initiative gouvernementale pour le Bureau s'est chiffrée à 104 289 $ en 2010-2011 et est estimée à 130 000 $ en 2011-2012. Le Bureau a réussi à absorber cette réduction de financement pour 2010-2011 et 2011-2012 sans que ses activités n'en souffrent trop. Outre ces mesures budgétaires, le Bureau a également dû absorber une réduction permanente du niveau de référence de 132 667 $ touchant les conventions collectives, en vigueur en 2011-2012. La direction revoit actuellement diverses solutions pour faire face aux réductions de financement prévues pour l'année financière 2012-2013.

La plus importante dépense du Bureau est le poste du personnel, qui représente 70 % de ses dépenses prévues. Au cours des dernières années, le Bureau a connu une réduction naturelle accrue de ses effectifs, qui devrait d'ailleurs se poursuivre pendant quelques années encore, particulièrement en raison de départs à la retraite. Un défi permanent pour le Bureau consiste à maintenir suffisamment de personnel pour compenser les départs. Compte tenu de la taille restreinte du Bureau, le départ ou l'embauche de quelques employés seulement au cours d'un même trimestre peut avoir un effet considérable sur la gestion des ressources et des dépenses durant ce trimestre. Malgré le niveau de réduction des effectifs, le Bureau a réussi à maintenir des coûts relativement stables en personnel entre les deux trimestres.  

4. Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

Au deuxième trimestre du présent exercice, la Cour suprême du Canada a subi certains changements, notamment le départ de deux de ses juges. Les répercussions financières de ces changements étaient négligeables au deuxième trimestre, et seront plutôt évaluées dans le prochain rapport financier trimestriel.

Une nouvelle registraire adjointe a été nommée le 29 juin 2011 et est officiellement entrée en fonction en juillet 2011. Le paiement du salaire est la seule incidence financière de cette nomination par rapport au premier trimestre où le poste était vacant.

Il n'y a eu aucun changement dans le programme du Bureau au cours de la présente période de rapport.

Approbation des cadres supérieurs

Approuvé par :

 

 Roger Bilodeau, c.r., registraire
Ottawa (Ontario)
Le 25 novembre 2011

 

Catherine Laforce, dirigeante principale des finances

 

État des autorisations (non vérifié)
(en dollars)

  Exercice 2011-2012
Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2012* Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2011 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 50 - Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 23 632 411 6 293 308 10 895 376
Autorisations législatives budgétaires 7 998 914 652 444 2 840 972
 
Autorisations totales 31 631 325 6 945 752 13 736 348

 

  Exercice 2010-2011
Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2011* Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2010 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 50 - Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 22 683 831 5 364 092 10 422 388
Autorisations législatives budgétaires 7 769 275 1 814 122 3 179 851
 
Autorisations totales 30 453 106 7 178 214 13 602 239

* N'inclut que les Autorisations disponibles pour l'exercice et accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre.

Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant (non vérifié)
(en dollars)

  Exercice 2011-2012
Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2012 Dépenses durant le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2011 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses
Personnel 22 094 037 5 520 277 11 432 969
Transports et communications 1 791 843 346 307 538 786
Information 269 220 57 337 58 377
Services professionnels et spéciaux 3 483 852 509 763 860 166
Location 332 052 24 985 60 616
Services de réparation et d'entretien 424 792 28 394 40 483
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 2 104 939 282 000 533 755
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage 1 130 590 171 248 206 500
Autres subventions et paiements - 5 441 4 696
 
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 31 631 325 6 945 752 13 736 348

 

  Exercice 2010-2011
Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2011 Dépenses durant le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2010 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses
Personnel 20 945 540 5 969 736 11 452 023
Transports et communications 1 236 267 405 219 599 102
Information 156 263 19 751 24 221
Services professionnels et spéciaux 2 564 966 426 200 815 545
Location 184 044 54 435 95 609
Services de réparation et d'entretien 754 903 10 950 24 021
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 1 392 727 279 282 548 483
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage 1 300 944 28 273 43 282
Autres subventions et paiements 1 917 452 (15 632) (47)
 
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 30 453 106 7 178 214 13 602 239