Quarterly Financial Report for the Quarter Ended December 31, 2013

The Office of the Registrar of the Supreme Court of Canada

1. Introduction

This quarterly financial report has been prepared by management as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board (TB). This quarterly report should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates and approved allotment transfers from Treasury Board Central Votes. It has not been subject to an external audit or review.

1.1 Authority, Mandate and Programs

Created by an Act of Parliament in 1875, the Supreme Court of Canada is Canada’s final court of appeal. It serves Canadians by deciding legal issues of public importance, thereby contributing to the development of all branches of law applicable within Canada. The independence of the Court, the quality of its work and the esteem in which it is held both in Canada and abroad contribute significantly as foundations for a secure, strong and democratic country founded on the Rule of Law. The Supreme Court of Canada is an important national institution, positioned at the pinnacle of the judicial branch of government in Canada, separate from and independent of the executive and legislative branches of government.

The Office of the Registrar of the Supreme Court of Canada (Office) provides all necessary services and support for the Court to process, hear and decide cases.  It also serves as the interface between litigants and the Court.

Further information on the Office’s authority, mandate and programs may be found in its Report on Plans and Priorities 2013-2014.

1.2 Basis of Presentation

This quarterly report has been prepared by management using an expenditure basis of accounting. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes the Office’s spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the Office, consistent with the Main Estimates and approved allotment transfers from Treasury Board Central Votes for the 2013-14 fiscal year. This quarterly report has been prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before moneys can be spent by the Government. Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes.

The Office uses the full accrual method of accounting to prepare and present its annual departmental financial statements that are part of the departmental performance reporting process. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

2. Highlights of Fiscal Quarter and Fiscal Year to Date Results

This section highlights changes in authorities provided and expenditures incurred as at December 31, 2013 compared to the same quarter of the prior year. Overall, the Office’s authorities increased by 4% while the quarterly spending increased by 2% over the same quarter ending December 31, 2012. The overall proportion of authorities used on a year-to-date basis (67%), is in line with that of the previous year (68%).

2.1 Changes to Granted Authorities

As at December 31, 2013, the total authorities provided to the Office of the Registrar of the Supreme Court of Canada have increased by $1,233,097 compared to the same quarter in the prior year.  This net increase consists of:

Previously reported:

  • A decrease in Vote 50 - Net Operating Expenditures ($292,576); and
  • An increase in Budgetary Statutory authorities ($657,630).

Current quarter:

  • An increase in Vote 50 – Net Operating Expenditures ($868,043) in the third quarter of 2013-14 which is due to:
    • An allocation from TB Vote 25 (Operating Budget Carry Forward) of $554,732 received in the third quarter of 2013-14;
    • An allocation from TB Vote 15 (Collective Agreements) of $290,533 received in the third quarter of 2013-14;
    • An allocation from Supplementary Estimates (B) of $118,613 received in the third quarter of 2013-14; and
    • An allocation from TB Vote 30 (Paylist Requirements) of $250,850 received in the third quarter of 2013-14, whereas the allocation for that item in the third quarter of 2012-13 amounted to $346,685.

2.2 Changes to Planned Expenditures

The allocation of planned expenditures between both fiscal years has remained stable as there are no significant changes to the Office’s programs. Additional authorities received for Paylist Requirements and Collective Agreements in the third quarter of 2013-14 will be used to offset related salary increases, thus increasing the planned Personnel expenditures. Authorities received for the Operating Budget Carry Forward will be distributed within non-salary categories in proportion to the standard object distribution within the 2013-14 Main Estimates. As for authorities received for Supplementary Estimates (B), they will be allocated to Rentals to offset parking rental expenditures paid to Public Works and Government Services Canada.

2.3 Significant Changes to Budgetary Expenditures

As at December 31, 2013, total net budgetary expenditures increased by 2% ($376,482) compared to the same quarter of the previous year. This variance is comprised of:

Previously reported:

  • An increase in net budgetary expenditures ($245,362).

Current quarter:

  • An increase of 2% ($131,120) in net budgetary expenditures explained by:
    • An increase (1%) in Vote 50 – Net Operating Expenditures; and
    • An increase (4%) in Budgetary Statutory spending.

An increase of $53,737 was noted in total operating expenditures (Vote 50) in comparison to the same quarter of the previous year. The variance between the two quarters is attributed to:

  • A net salary increase of $175,254 mainly due to:
    • Adjustments due to collective agreement settlements in the third quarter of 2013-14; and
    • Other various salary increases.
  • A non-salary decrease of $121,517 resulting from:
    • Timing differences;
    • Price variances;
    • Fluctuating replacement or maintenance schedule; and
    • Overall decrease in operating expenditures.

A net increase of $77,383 was noted in total Budgetary Statutory expenditures in comparison to the same quarter of the previous year. The variance between the two quarters is essentially attributed to an increase in statutory pension expenditures. Other expenditures have remained stable in comparison to the same quarter of the previous year.

Figure 1: Comparison of Authorities Granted and Used

Comparison of Authorities Granted and Used as of December 31, 2012 and 2013

Description of image

Comparison of Third Quarter Authorities Granted and Used – The diagram illustrates the variation in thousands of dollars for the Annual Net Budgetary Authorities Granted, the year to date used, the authorities used – Vote 50 – Net Operating Expenditures and the authorities used – Budgetary Statutory Authorities as at December 31, 2012 and 2013.

Annual Net Budgetary Authorities Granted – Figures showing the amounts the Office planned to spend as at December 31, 2012 and 2013: $31,096,800 in 2012-13 and $32,329,897 in 2013-14.

Year to Date Used – Figures present the cumulative amounts the Office received as at December 31, 2012 and 2013 respectively: $21,280,022 and $21,656,504.

Authorities used – Vote 50 – Net Operating Expenditures – Figures showing the amounts the Office received: $5,356,338 for the third quarter of 2012-13 and $5,410,075 for the third quarter of 2013-14.

Authorities used – Budgetary Statutory Authorities – Figures showing the amounts the Office received: $2,069,751 for the third quarter of 2012-13 and $2,147,134 for the third quarter of 2013-14.

3. Risks and Uncertainties

This departmental quarterly financial report reflects the results of the current fiscal period in relation to the Main Estimates for which full supply was released on June 20, 2013.

The Office of the Registrar of the Supreme Court of Canada is funded through voted parliamentary spending authorities (73%) and statutory authorities (27%) for operating and personnel expenditures.

The Office continues to operate within its existing reference levels, which have remained constant for several years. This remains a serious challenge as the Court must continue to evolve from a technical standpoint as well as respond to an increase in the complexity of cases being heard.  The lack of new funding and the focus on addressing gaps and deficiencies at the operating level has limited the Office’s ability to make investments in new strategic priorities. The Office is facing aging legacy IT systems and infrastructure, IT security (cyber threats), an aging building, as well as a need to strengthen physical security in light of the changing nature of cases coming before the Court. The growing influence of privacy, national security and human rights issues continues to increase the complexity and sensitivity of cases and results in a need for more robust security measures. The Office has been trying to respond to these challenges by reallocating internal resources and identifying efficiencies. However, this is proving to be more and more difficult and options to acquire additional funding are being explored.

Through its Business Transformation Initiative, the Office is continuing to explore various ways to leverage recent investments in technology by adapting work processes to the new technological environment. As the Office continues to strive towards more efficient and effective processes, it must balance the need to respond to gaps and deficiencies at the operational level (IT Infrastructure, IT Security, Physical Security, etc.) while trying to undertake transformational activities. Given its limited resources, the Office must continue to be strategic in its approach to prioritization and resource allocation.

4. Significant Changes to Operations, Personnel and Programs

There were no significant changes in the Office’s operations, personnel and programs over this reporting period.

Approval by Senior Officials

Approved by:

 

Roger Bilodeau, Q.C., Registrar
Ottawa, Ontario
February 25, 2014

 

Catherine Laforce, Chief Financial Officer

Statement of Authorities (unaudited)
(in dollars)

  Fiscal year 2013-2014
Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2014* Used during the quarter ended December 31, 2013 Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 50 - Net Operating expenditures 23,576,422 5,410,075 15,919,476
Budgetary statutory authorities 8,753,475 2,147,134 5,737,028
Total authorities 32,329,897 7,557,209 21,656,504

 

  Fiscal year 2012-2013
Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2013* Used during the quarter ended December 31, 2012 Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 50 - Net Operating expenditures 23,000,955 5,356,338 15,730,019
Budgetary statutory authorities 8,095,845 2,069,751 5,550,003
Total authorities 31,096,800 7,426,089 21,280,022

* Includes only Authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter-end.

Departmental Budgetary Expenditures by Standard Object (unaudited)
(in dollars)

  Fiscal year 2013-2014
Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2014 Expended during the quarter ended December 31, 2013 Year to date used at quarter-end
Expenditures
Personnel 23,000,862 6,456,338 18,677,731
Transportation and communications 2,073,494 199,279 644,049
Information 277,879 34,041 64,209
Professional and special services 3,262,968 331,127 909,029
Rentals 309,236 43,541 249,977
Repair and maintenance 180,185 47,577 77,890
Utilities, materials and supplies 1,860,528 355,263 847,684
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 916,662 82,034 175,921
Other subsidies and payments 448,083 8,009 10,014
Total net budgetary expenditures 32,329,897 7,557,209 21,656,504

 

  Fiscal year 2012-2013
Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2013 Expended during the quarter ended December 31, 2012 Year to date used at quarter-end
Expenditures
Personnel 21,707,853 6,189,640 17,608,617
Transportation and communications 1,741,861 234,418 900,601
Information 230,383 22,190 64,548
Professional and special services 3,517,986 380,647 1,032,551
Rentals 292,155 90,335 318,143
Repair and maintenance 228,563 34,752 104,392
Utilities, materials and supplies 1,865,499 336,974 839,990
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 1,055,583 112,178 386,211
Other subsidies and payments 456,917 24,955 24,969
Total net budgetary expenditures 31,096,800 7,426,089 21,280,022

Rapport financier trimestriel pour le trimestre ayant pris fin le 31 décembre 2013

Bureau du registraire de la Cour suprême du Canada

1. Introduction

Ce rapport financier trimestriel a été préparé par la direction, tel qu’exigé par l’article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, et selon les modalités prescrites par le Conseil du Trésor (CT). Ce rapport devrait être lu de concert avec le budget principal des dépenses et les transferts d’affectation approuvés des crédits centraux du Conseil du Trésor. Il n’a pas fait l’objet d’une vérification externe ou d’un examen.

1.1 Compétence, mandat et programmes

Créée par une loi du Parlement en 1875, la Cour suprême du Canada est la juridiction d’appel de dernier ressort du pays. Elle sert les Canadiens en tranchant des questions de droit d’importance pour le public, contribuant ainsi à l’évolution de toutes les branches du droit au Canada. L’indépendance de la Cour, la qualité de ses travaux et le respect qu’on lui porte, tant ici qu’à l’étranger, sont autant d’éléments qui contribuent grandement aux fondements d’un pays fort, sécuritaire et démocratique, fondé sur la primauté du droit. La Cour suprême du Canada est une importante institution nationale, qui occupe le sommet du pouvoir judiciaire de l’État canadien, distincte, et indépendante du pouvoir exécutif et du pouvoir législatif.

Le Bureau du registraire de la Cour suprême du Canada (ci-après le Bureau) fournit à la Cour tous les services et l’appui dont elle a besoin pour traiter, entendre et trancher les affaires qui lui sont soumises. Il agit également comme interface entre les plaideurs et la Cour.

Vous trouverez un complément d’information sur la compétence, le mandat et les programmes du Bureau dans son rapport sur les plans et priorités 2013-2014.

1.2 Méthode de présentation du rapport

Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé par la direction au moyen d’une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses. L’état des autorisations joint à ce rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenser du Bureau accordées par le Parlement et utilisées par le Bureau, de manière cohérente avec le budget principal des dépenses et les transferts d’affectation approuvés des crédits centraux du Conseil du Trésor pour l’exercice 2013-2014. Ce rapport financier trimestriel a été préparé en utilisant un référentiel à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d’information financière à l’égard de l’utilisation des autorisations de dépenser.

Le gouvernement ne peut dépenser sans l’autorisation préalable du Parlement. Les autorisations sont accordées par l’entremise de lois de crédits, sous forme de limites annuelles, ou par l’entremise de lois sous forme de pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins déterminées.

Le Bureau utilise la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice intégrale pour la préparation de ses états financiers annuels qui font partie du processus de rapport sur le rendement ministériel. Toutefois, les pouvoirs de dépenser votés par le Parlement demeurent fondés sur la méthode de comptabilité axée sur les dépenses.

2. Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs

Cette section met en relief les changements survenus dans les autorisations fournies et les dépenses engagées en date du 31 décembre 2013, comparativement au même trimestre de l’année précédente. Globalement, les autorisations du Bureau ont augmenté de 4 %, tandis que les dépenses trimestrielles ont augmenté de 2 % par rapport au même trimestre s’étant terminé le 31 décembre 2012. La proportion des autorisations utilisées sur une base cumulative (67 %) correspond sensiblement à celle de l’année précédente (68 %).

2.1 Changements survenus dans les autorisations accordées

Au 31 décembre 2013, les autorisations totales accordées au Bureau du registraire de la Cour suprême du Canada ont augmenté de 1 233 097 $ par rapport au même trimestre de l’année précédente. Cette augmentation nette correspond à :

Trimestres précédents :

  • une diminution du Crédit 50 – Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement (292 576 $) ;
  • une augmentation des Autorisations législatives budgétaires (657 630 $).

Trimestre en cours :

  • une augmentation du Crédit 50 – Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement (868 043 $) dans le troisième trimestre de 2013-2014 attribuable à :
    • une allocation du Crédit 25 du CT (report du budget de fonctionnement) de 554 732 $ reçue dans le troisième trimestre de 2013-2014 ;
    • une allocation du Crédit 15 du CT (conventions collectives) de 290 533 $ reçue dans le troisième trimestre de 2013-2014 ;
    • une allocation du Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (B) de 118 613 $ reçue dans le troisième trimestre de 2013-2014 ;
    • une allocation du Crédit 30 du CT (besoins en matière de rémunération) de 250 850 $ reçue dans le troisième trimestre de 2013-2014 alors que l’allocation pour cet item pour le troisième trimestre de 2012-2013 s’élevait à 346 685 $.

2.2 Changements aux dépenses prévues

L’affectation des dépenses prévues est demeurée stable d’un exercice à l’autre, car il n’y a eu aucun changement important dans les programmes du Bureau.  Les autorisations supplémentaires accordées au titre des besoins en matière de rémunération et des conventions collectives au troisième trimestre de l’exercice 2013-2014 serviront à compenser les augmentations salariales en découlant, ce qui fera augmenter les dépenses prévues relatives au personnel.  Les autorisations accordées au titre du report du budget de fonctionnement seront réparties entre les catégories non salariales, en fonction du mode de distribution des articles courants dans le Budget principal des dépenses de 2013-2014.  Quant aux autorisations issues du Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (B), elles serviront à compenser les frais de location payés à Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada pour le stationnement.

2.3 Changements importants aux dépenses budgétaires

En date du 31 décembre 2013, les dépenses budgétaires totales nettes ont augmenté de 2 % (376 482 $) comparativement au même trimestre de l’année précédente. Cet écart découle des éléments suivants :

Trimestres précédents :

  • une augmentation des dépenses budgétaires nettes (245 362 $).

Trimestre en cours :

  • une augmentation de 2 % (131 120 $) des dépenses budgétaires nettes qui s’explique par :
    • une augmentation (1 %) du Crédit 50 – Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement ;
    • une augmentation (4 %) au poste des dépenses législatives budgétaires.

Une augmentation de 53 737 $ des dépenses totales de fonctionnement (Crédit 50) a été constatée par rapport au même trimestre de l’année précédente. L’écart entre les deux trimestres est attribuable aux éléments suivants :

  • une augmentation salariale nette de 175 254 $ principalement attribuable à :
    • des ajustements découlant de la signature de conventions collectives au cours du troisième trimestre de l’exercice 2013-2014 ;
    • d’autres augmentations salariales diverses.
  • une diminution non salariale de 121 517 $ résultant :
    • d’écarts temporels ;
    • de variations des prix ;
    • d’horaires de remplacement ou d’entretien variables ;
    • d’une diminution globale des dépenses de fonctionnement.

Une augmentation nette de 77 383 $ a été observée au poste des dépenses législatives budgétaires en comparaison avec le même trimestre de l’année précédente. Cet écart est essentiellement attribuable à une augmentation des dépenses relatives au régime de pension obligatoire. Les autres catégories de dépenses sont demeurées stables en comparaison au même trimestre de l’année précédente.

Tableau 1 : Comparaison des autorisations accordées et des crédits utilisés

Comparaison des autorisations accordées et des crédits utilisés au 30 septembre 2012 et 2013

Description de l'image

Comparaison des autorisations accordées et des crédits utilisés pour le troisième trimestre – Le diagramme illustre les variations, en milliers de dollars, des autorisations budgétaires nettes annuelles accordées, du cumul des crédits utilisés, des crédits utilisés – Crédit 50 – Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement et des crédits utilisés – Autorisations législatives budgétaires aux 31 décembre 2012 et 2013.

Autorisations budgétaires nettes annuelles accordées – Les chiffres indiquent les montants que le Bureau a prévu de dépenser aux 31 décembre 2012 et 2013 :31 096 800 $ en 2012-2013 et 32 329 897 $ en 2013-2014.

Cumul des crédits utilisés – Les chiffres indiquent les montants cumulatifs reçus par le Bureau aux 31 décembre 2012 et 2013 respectivement : 21 280 022 $ et 21 656 504 $.

Crédits utilisés – Crédit 50 – Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement – Les chiffres présentent les montants que le Bureau a reçus : 5 356 338 $ pour le troisième trimestre de 2012-2013 et 5 410 075 $ pour le troisième trimestre de 2013-2014.

Crédits utilisés – Dépenses législatives budgétaires – Les chiffres présentent les montants que le Bureau a reçus : 2 069 751 $ pour le troisième trimestre de 2012-2013 et 2 147 134 $ pour le troisième trimestre de 2013-2014.

3. Risques et incertitudes

Le présent rapport financier trimestriel présente les résultats de la période financière en cours par rapport au Budget principal des dépenses pour lequel la totalité des crédits a été dévoilée le 20 juin 2013.

Le Bureau du registraire de la Cour suprême du Canada est financé au moyen d'autorisations de dépenser votées par le Parlement (73 %) et d'autorisations législatives (27 %) pour les dépenses consacrées au fonctionnement et au personnel.

Le Bureau continue d’assurer son fonctionnement sans dépasser les niveaux de référence, qui n’ont pas changé depuis plusieurs exercices.  Il est ainsi confronté à un véritable casse-tête, car la Cour doit sans cesse évoluer sur le plan technique et traiter des dossiers d’une complexité grandissante.  L’absence de nouvelles sources de fonds et les efforts consacrés à corriger les lacunes opérationnelles a réduit la capacité du Bureau à investir dans les nouvelles priorités stratégiques.  Le Bureau doit assurer la sécurité des TI (cybermenaces) et composer avec des systèmes et une infrastructure de TI vieillissants, un immeuble vieillissant et la nécessité d’améliorer la sécurité physique, compte tenu de la nature des affaires dont la Cour est saisie, qui a changé.  L’importance croissante des questions relatives à la protection de la vie privée, à la sécurité nationale et aux droits de la personne a pour effet d’augmenter la complexité et la nature sensible des dossiers, ce qui se traduit par la nécessité de resserrer les mesures de sécurité.  Le Bureau a tenté de relever ces défis en réaménageant les ressources internes et en trouvant des gains d’efficacité possibles, mais cette solution se révèle de plus en plus difficile, et le Bureau envisage d’autres sources de fonds. 

Par son Initiative de transformation des activités, le Bureau continue d’envisager des moyens de mettre à profit les investissements technologiques récents en adaptant les méthodes de travail au nouvel environnement technologique. En poursuivant ses efforts d’améliorer l’efficacité et l’efficience de ses processus, le Bureau doit équilibrer la nécessité de corriger les lacunes opérationnelles (infrastructure des TI, sécurité des TI, sécurité physique, etc.) tout en entreprenant la transformation des activités. Compte tenu des ressources limitées à sa disposition, le Bureau continuera d’être stratégique dans l’établissement des priorités et l’attribution des ressources.

4. Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

Il n’y a eu aucun changement significatif quant aux activités, personnel et programmes du Bureau pendant la période visée par le présent rapport.

Approbation des cadres supérieurs

Approuvé par :

 

Roger Bilodeau, c.r., registraire
Ottawa (Ontario)
Le 25 février 2014

 

Catherine Laforce, dirigeante principale des finances

 

État des autorisations (non vérifié)
(en dollars)

  Exercice 2013-2014
Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2014* Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2013 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 50 - Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 23 576 422 5 410 075 15 919 476
Autorisations législatives budgétaires 8 753 475 2 147 134 5 737 028
Autorisations totales 32 329 897 7 557 209 21 656 504

 

  Exercice 2012-2013
Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2013* Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2012 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 50 - Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 23 000 955 5 356 338 15 730 019
Autorisations législatives budgétaires 8 095 845 2 069 751 5 550 003
Autorisations totales 31 096 800 7 426 089 21 280 022

* N'inclut que les Autorisations disponibles pour l'exercice et accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre.

Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant (non vérifié)
(en dollars)

  Exercice 2013-2014
Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2014 Dépenses durant le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2013 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses
Personnel 23 000 862 6 456 338 18 677 731
Transports et communications 2 073 494 199 279 644 049
Information 277 879 34 041 64 209
Services professionnels et spéciaux 3 262 968 331 127 909 029
Location 309 236 43 541 249 977
Services de réparation et d'entretien 180 185 47 577 77 890
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 1 860 528 355 263 847 684
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage 916 662 82 034 175 921
Autres subventions et paiements 448 083 8 009 10 014
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 32 329 897 7 557 209 21 656 504

 

  Exercice 2012-2013
Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2013 Dépenses durant le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2012 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses
Personnel 21 707 853 6 189 640 17 608 617
Transports et communications 1 741 861 234 418 900 601
Information 230 383 22 190 64 548
Services professionnels et spéciaux 3 517 986 380 647 1 032 551
Location 292 155 90 335 318 143
Services de réparation et d'entretien 228 563 34 752 104 392
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 1 865 499 336 974 839 990
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage 1 055 583 112 178 386 211
Autres subventions et paiements 456 917 24 955 24 969
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 31 096 800 7 426 089 21 280 022