Quarterly Financial Report for the Quarter Ended December 31, 2016

The Office of the Registrar of the Supreme Court of Canada

1. Introduction

This quarterly financial report has been prepared by management as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board (TB). It should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates, Supplementary Estimates and approved allotment transfers from Treasury Board Central Votes. It has not been subject to an external audit or review.

1.1 Authority, Mandate and Programs

Created by an Act of Parliament in 1875, the Supreme Court of Canada is Canada’s final court of appeal. It serves Canadians by deciding legal issues of public importance, thereby contributing to the development of all branches of law applicable within Canada. The independence of the Court, the quality of its work and the esteem in which it is held both in Canada and abroad contribute significantly as foundations for a secure, strong and democratic country founded on the Rule of Law. The Supreme Court of Canada is an important national institution, positioned at the pinnacle of the judicial branch of government in Canada, separate from and independent of the executive and legislative branches of government.

The Office of the Registrar of the Supreme Court of Canada (ORSCC) provides all necessary services and support for the Court to process, hear and decide cases.  It also serves as the interface between litigants and the Court.

Further information on the ORSCC’s authority, mandate and programs may be found in its Report on Plans and Priorities 2016-2017.

1.2 Basis of Presentation

This quarterly report has been prepared by management using an expenditure basis of accounting. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes the ORSCC’s spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the ORSCC, consistent with the Main Estimates, Supplementary Estimates and approved allotment transfers from Treasury Board Central Votes for the 2016-17 fiscal year. This quarterly report has been prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before moneys can be spent by the Government. Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes.

The ORSCC uses the full accrual method of accounting to prepare and present its annual departmental financial statements that are part of the departmental performance reporting process. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

2. Highlights of Fiscal Quarter and Fiscal Year to Date Results

This section highlights the changes in authorities provided and expenditures incurred as at December 31, 2016 compared to the same quarter of the prior year. Overall, the ORSCC’s authorities increased by 8% while quarterly spending decreased by 3% over the same quarter ending December 31, 2015. The overall proportion of authorities used on a year-to-date basis (65%) is in line with that of the previous year (67%).

2.1 Changes to Granted Authorities

As at December 31, 2016, the total authorities provided to the ORSCC have increased by $2,587,551 compared to the same quarter of the prior year. This net increase consists of:

Previously reported:

  • An increase in Vote 50 – Net Operating Expenditures ($2,063,758); and
  • An increase in Budgetary Statutory authorities ($431,640).

Current quarter:

  • An increase in Vote 50 – Net Operating Expenditures ($92,153) in the third quarter of 2016-17 which consists of :
    • An allocation from TB Vote 15 (Collective Agreements) of $71,796 received in the third quarter of 2016-17; whereas the allocation for that item received in the third quarter of 2015-16 amounted to $8,682;
    • An allocation from Supplementary Estimates (B) of $118,039 received in the third quarter of 2016-17; and
    • A decrease of $89,000 from the Budget 2016 reduction.

2.2 Changes to Planned Expenditures

The allocation of planned expenditures slightly differs between both fiscal years due to funding received to enhance security at the Supreme Court of Canada in the first quarter of 2016-17. Other than for this initiative, there are no significant changes to the ORSCC’s planned expenditures to report for this period.

2.3 Significant Changes to Budgetary Expenditures

As at December 31, 2016, total net budgetary expenditures increased by 4% ($854,373) compared to the same quarter of the previous year. This variance comprises:

Previously reported:

  • An increase of 8% ($1,067,568) in net budgetary expenditures explained by:
    • An increase of 10% ($962,363) in Vote 50 – Net Operating Expenditures; and
    • An increase of 3% ($105,205) in Budgetary Statutory expenditures.

Current quarter:

  • A decrease of 3% ($213,195) in net budgetary expenditures explained by:
    • An increase of 6% ($323,504) in Vote 50 – Net Operating Expenditures; and
    • A decrease of 18% ($536,699) in Budgetary Statutory expenditures.

The above increase of 6% ($323,504) was noted in Vote 50 – Net Operating Expenditures in comparison to the same quarter of the previous year. The variance between the two quarters is attributed to:

  • A net salary increase of $147,768; and
  • A net non-salary increase of $175,736 resulting from:
    • Timing differences;
    • Price variances;
    • Special projects; and
    • Fluctuating replacement or maintenance schedules.

A net decrease of 18% ($536,699) was noted in Budgetary Statutory Expenditures in comparison to the same quarter of the previous year. The variance between the two quarters is mainly attributed to a reduction in relocation expenditures. Other expenditures have remained stable in comparison to the same quarter of the previous year.

Figure 1: Comparison of Authorities Granted and Used

Comparison of Authorities Granted and Used as of December 31, 2015 and 2016

Description of image

Comparison of Third Quarter Authorities Granted and Used – The diagram illustrates the variation in thousands of dollars for the Annual Net Budgetary Authorities Granted, the Year to Date Used, the Authorities Used during the Third Quarter - Vote 50 - Net Operating Expenditures and the Authorities Used during the Third Quarter - Budgetary Statutory Authority as at December 31, 2015 and 2016.

Annual Net Budgetary Authorities Granted – Figures showing the amounts the ORSCC planned to spend as at December 31, 2015 and 2016: $32,859,008 in 2015-16 and $35,446,559 in 2016-17.

Year to Date Used – Figures present the cumulative amounts the ORSCC spent as at December 31, 2015 and 2016 respectively: $22,125,848 and $22,980,221.

Authorities Used during the Third Quarter - Vote 50 - Net Operating Expenditures – Figures showing the amounts the ORSCC spent: $5,023,366 for the third quarter of 2015-16 and $5,346,870 for the third quarter of 2016-17.

Authorities Used during the Third Quarter– Budgetary Statutory Authority – Figures showing the amounts the ORSCC spent: $2,992,536 for the third quarter of 2015-16 and $2,455,837 for the third quarter of 2016-17.

3. Risks and Uncertainties

This departmental quarterly financial report reflects the results of the current fiscal period in relation to the Main Estimates for which full supply was released on June 23, 2016.

The ORSCC is funded through voted parliamentary spending authorities (72%) and statutory authorities (28%) for operating and personnel expenditures.

With the exception of funding received for enhancing security in 2016-17, the ORSCC’s operating budget has remained fairly stable for several years. The fiscal restraint on its operations continues to pose a serious challenge as the organization must continue to absorb rising operating costs which results in limited funding available for investments in its current asset base and strategic priorities. Mandatory contributions to Central Agency initiatives also create further financial pressures.

Following the 2013 Speech from the Throne, the ORSCC, like other government departments, must also contend with an operating budget freeze.  Funding for wage and salary increases taking effect during fiscal years 2014-15 and 2015-16 will not be received; nor will the ongoing impact of these adjustments be funded in the future.

The ORSCC continues to reduce its financial risks by dedicating time and effort to ensure that all resources are used in the most efficient and effective manner possible. Opportunities aimed at increasing efficiency and reducing costs remain a priority for the organization. Strategies aimed at prioritizing new investments while postponing others that are less critical to the operations are utilized. Greater financial controls and improved resource planning and forecasting are also helping to mitigate these risks. Despite these strategies, gaps still exist and the ORSCC must be strategic in its approach to prioritization and resource allocation.

4. Significant Changes to Operations, Personnel and Programs

The Honourable Mr. Justice Malcom H. Rowe was appointed as a Justice of the Supreme Court of Canada on October 28, 2016. The financial impacts of the above nomination were minimal in the third quarter of 2016-17.

There were no other significant changes in the ORSCC’s operations, personnel and programs over this reporting period.

 

Approval by Senior Officials

Approved by:

 

Roger Bilodeau, Q.C., Registrar
Ottawa, Ontario

February 22, 2017

 

 

Catherine Laforce, Chief Financial Officer

Statement of Authorities (unaudited)
(in dollars)

Fiscal year 2016-2017

Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2017* Used during the quarter ended December 31, 2016 Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 50 - Net Operating expenditures 25,555,822 5,346,870 16,434,344
Budgetary statutory authorities 9,890,737 2,455,837 6,545,877
Total authorities 35,446,559 7,802,707 22,980,221

Fiscal year 2015-2016

Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2016* Used during the quarter ended December 31, 2015 Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 50 - Net Operating expenditures 23,399,911 5,023,366 15,148,477
Budgetary statutory authorities 9,459,097 2,992,536 6,977,371
Total authorities 32,859,008 8,015,902 22,125,848

* Includes only Authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter-end.

Departmental Budgetary Expenditures by Standard Object (unaudited)
(in dollars)

Fiscal year 2016-2017

Expenditures Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2017 Expended during the quarter ended December 31, 2016 Year to date used at quarter-end
Personnel 23,747,398 6,496,894 18,612,590
Transportation and communications 1,681,419 178,820 791,969
Information 172,941 16,323 21,997
Professional and special services 4,082,904 516,449 1,395,270
Rentals 1,211,995 43,542 383,018
Repair and maintenance 324,287 28,248 65,669
Utilities, materials and supplies 2,235,867 331,113 830,871
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 1,881,197 198,288 863,528
Other subsidies and payments 108,551 (6,970) 15,309
Total net budgetary expenditures 35,446,559 7,802,707 22,980,221

Fiscal year 2015-2016

Expenditures Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2016 Expended during the quarter ended December 31, 2015 Year to date used at quarter-end
Personnel 23,080,264 6,266,615 18,112,203
Transportation and communications 1,944,955 837,440 1,499,461
Information 235,042 24,236 40,796
Professional and special services 2,493,473 257,997 806,763
Rentals 1,118,775 138,352 413,070
Repair and maintenance 362,845 41,691 77,841
Utilities, materials and supplies 2,449,739 323,701 837,743
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 1,133,494 126,161 332,855
Other subsidies and payments 40,421 (291) 5,116
Total net budgetary expenditures 32,859,008 8,015,902 22,125,848

Rapport financier trimestriel pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2016

Bureau du registraire de la Cour suprême du Canada

1. Introduction

Ce rapport financier trimestriel a été préparé par la direction, tel qu’exigé par l’article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, et selon les modalités prescrites par le Conseil du Trésor (CT). Ce rapport devrait être lu de concert avec le budget principal des dépenses, les budgets supplémentaires des dépenses et les transferts d’affectation approuvés des crédits centraux du Conseil du Trésor. Il n’a pas fait l’objet d’une vérification externe ou d’un examen.

1.1 Compétence, mandat et programmes

Créée par une loi du Parlement en 1875, la Cour suprême du Canada est la juridiction d’appel de dernier ressort du pays. Elle sert les Canadiens et les Canadiennes en tranchant des questions de droit d’importance pour le public et contribue ainsi à l’évolution de toutes les branches du droit au Canada. L’indépendance de la Cour, la qualité de ses travaux et le respect qu’on lui porte, tant ici qu’à l’étranger, sont autant d’éléments qui contribuent grandement aux fondements d’un pays sécuritaire, fort et démocratique, fondé sur la primauté du droit. La Cour suprême du Canada est une importante institution nationale, qui occupe le sommet du pouvoir judiciaire de l’État canadien, distincte et indépendante du pouvoir exécutif et du pouvoir législatif.

Le Bureau du registraire de la Cour suprême du Canada (BRCSC) fournit à la Cour tous les services et l’appui dont elle a besoin pour traiter, entendre et trancher les affaires qui lui sont soumises. Il agit également comme interface entre les plaideurs et la Cour.

Vous trouverez un complément d’information sur la compétence, le mandat et les programmes du BRCSC dans son Rapport sur les plans et priorités 2016-2017.

1.2 Méthode de présentation du rapport

Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé par la direction en utilisant une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses. L’état des autorisations joint à ce rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenser du BRCSC accordées par le Parlement et utilisées par le BRCSC, de manière cohérente avec le budget principal des dépenses, les budgets supplémentaires des dépenses et les transferts d’affectation approuvés des crédits centraux du Conseil du Trésor pour l’exercice 2016-2017. Ce rapport financier trimestriel a été préparé en utilisant un référentiel à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d’information financière à l’égard de l’utilisation des autorisations de dépenser.

Le gouvernement ne peut dépenser sans l’autorisation préalable du Parlement. Les autorisations sont accordées par l’entremise de lois de crédits, sous forme de limites annuelles, ou par l’entremise de lois sous forme de pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins déterminées.

Le BRCSC utilise la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice intégrale pour la préparation de ses états financiers annuels qui font partie du processus de rapport sur le rendement ministériel. Toutefois, les pouvoirs de dépenser votés par le Parlement demeurent fondés sur la méthode de comptabilité axée sur les dépenses.

2. Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs

Cette section met en relief les changements survenus dans les autorisations fournies et les dépenses engagées en date du 31 décembre 2016, comparativement au même trimestre de l’année précédente. Globalement, les autorisations du BRCSC ont augmenté de 8 %, tandis que les dépenses trimestrielles ont diminuées de 3 % par rapport au même trimestre se terminant le 31 décembre 2015. La proportion des autorisations utilisées sur une base cumulative (65 %) correspond à celle de l’année précédente (67 %).

2.1 Changements survenus dans les autorisations accordées

Au 31 décembre 2016, les autorisations totales accordées au BRCSC ont augmenté de 2 587 551 $, par rapport au même trimestre de l’année précédente. Cette augmentation nette correspond à :

Trimestres précédents :

  • une augmentation du Crédit 50 – Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement (2 063 758 $);
  • une augmentation des Autorisations législatives budgétaires (431 640 $).

Trimestre en cours :

  • une augmentation du Crédit 50 – Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement (92 153 $) au cours du troisième trimestre de 2016-2017 – qui correspond à :
    • une allocation du Crédit 15 du CT (conventions collectives) de 71 796 $ reçue durant le troisième trimestre de 2016-2017; tandis que l’allocation reçue durant le troisième trimestre de 2015-2016 était de 8 682 $;
    • une allocation du Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (B) de 118 039 $ reçue durant le troisième trimestre de 2016-2017;
    • une diminution de 89 000 $ en raison de la réduction annoncée dans le budget fédéral de 2016.

2.2 Changements aux dépenses prévues

L’affectation des dépenses prévues diffère légèrement d’un exercice à l’autre en raison du financement reçu pour améliorer la sécurité à la Cour suprême du Canada au cours du premier trimestre de 2016-2017.  À l’exception de cette initiative, il n’y a pas de changement important à signaler concernant les dépenses prévues du BRCSC pour cette période.

2.3 Changements importants aux dépenses budgétaires

En date du 31 décembre 2016, les dépenses budgétaires nettes totales ont augmentées de 4 % (854 373 $) comparativement au même trimestre de l’année précédente. Cet écart découle des éléments suivants :

Trimestres précédents :

  • une augmentation de 8 % (1 067 568 $) dans les dépenses budgétaires nettes expliquée par :
    • une augmentation de 10 % (962 363 $) au Crédit 50 – Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement;
    • une augmentation de 3 % (105 205 $) au poste des dépenses législatives budgétaires.

Trimestre en cours :

  • une diminution de 3 % (213 195 $) dans les dépenses budgétaires nettes expliquée par :
    • une augmentation de 6 % (323 504 $) au Crédit 50 – Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement;
    • une diminution de 18 % (536 699 $) au poste des dépenses législatives budgétaires.

L’augmentation de 6 % (323 504 $) mentionnée ci-haut a été constatée au Crédit 50 – Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement comparativement au même trimestre de l’année précédente. L’écart entre les deux trimestres est attribuable aux éléments suivants :

  • une augmentation salariale nette de 147 768 $;
  • une augmentation non salariale nette de 175 736 $ résultant:
    • d’écarts temporels;
    • de variations des prix;
    • des projets spéciaux;
    • d’horaires de remplacement ou d’entretien variables.

La diminution nette de 18 % (536 699 $) du poste des dépenses législatives budgétaires totales a été observée en comparaison avec le même trimestre de l’année précédente. L’écart entre les deux trimestres est essentiellement attribuable à  une diminution des frais de déménagement. Les autres catégories de dépenses sont demeurées stables comparativement au même trimestre de l’année précédente.

Tableau 1 : Comparaison des autorisations accordées et des crédits utilisés

Comparaison des autorisations accordées et des crédits utilisés aux 31 décembre 2015 et 2016

Description de l'image

Comparaison des autorisations accordées et des crédits utilisés pour le troisième trimestre – Le diagramme illustre les variations, en milliers de dollars, des autorisations budgétaires nettes annuelles accordées, du cumul des crédits utilisés, des crédits utilisés au cours du troisième trimestre - Crédit 50 - Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement, et des crédits utilisés au cours du troisième trimestre - Autorisations législatives budgétaires aux 31 décembre 2015 et 2016.

Autorisations budgétaires nettes annuelles accordées - Les chiffres indiquent les montants que le BRCSC a prévu de dépenser aux 31 décembre 2015 et 2016 : 32 859  008 $ en 2015-2016 et 35 446 559 $ en 2016-2017.

Cumul des crédits utilisés- Les chiffres indiquent les montants cumulatifs dépensés par le BRCSC aux 31 décembre 2015 et 2016 respectivement : 22 125 848 $ et 22 980 221 $.

Crédits utilisés au cours du troisième trimestre - Crédit 50 – Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement - Les chiffres présentent les montants que le BRCSC a dépensés : 5 023 366 $ pour le troisième trimestre de 2015-2016 et 5 346 870 $ pour le troisième trimestre de 2016-2017.

Crédits utilisés au cours du troisième trimestre - Autorisations législatives budgétaires – Les chiffres présentent les montants que le BRCSC a dépensés : 2 992 536 $ pour le troisième trimestre de 2015-2016 et 2 455 837 $ pour le troisième trimestre de 2016-2017.

3. Risques et incertitudes

Le présent rapport financier trimestriel présente les résultats de la période financière en cours par rapport au Budget principal des dépenses pour lequel la totalité des crédits a été débloquée le 23 juin 2016.

Le BRCSC est financé au moyen d’autorisations de dépenser votées par le Parlement (72 %) et d’autorisations législatives (28 %) pour les dépenses consacrées au fonctionnement et au personnel.

À l’exception de financement reçu en 2016-2017 pour améliorer la sécurité, le budget de fonctionnement du BRCSC est demeuré relativement stable depuis plusieurs exercices. Les restrictions budgétaires imposées sur ses opérations continuent de poser un défi de taille, car l'organisation doit absorber des coûts d'exploitation qui ne cessent d’augmenter, ce qui se traduit par un financement limité pour des investissements dans le remplacement de ses actifs actuels ainsi que dans ses priorités stratégiques. De plus, les contributions obligatoires aux initiatives des agences centrales créent des pressions financières additionnelles.

Suite au discours du Trône 2013, le BRCSC, tout comme les autres ministères fédéraux, doit composer avec un gel de son budget de fonctionnement. Le financement pour compenser les augmentations salariales prenant effet au cours des exercices 2014-2015 et 2015-2016 ne sera pas obtenu, pas plus que l’impact permanent de ces augmentations ne sera financé dans le futur.

Le BRCSC continue de mitiger ses risques financiers en consacrant temps et efforts pour assurer l’utilisation la plus efficace et efficiente possible de toutes ses ressources. Des moyens visant à accroître l’efficacité et à réduire les coûts demeurent une priorité pour l’organisation. Le BRCSC a adopté des stratégies visant à prioriser certains investissements ainsi qu’à  reporter ceux qui sont moins critiques pour les opérations. Des contrôles financiers plus vigoureux ainsi qu’un processus amélioré de planification et de prévisions contribuent également à mitiger ces risques. Malgré ces stratégies, des lacunes existent encore et le BRCSC doit se montrer stratégique quant à l’établissement des priorités et à l’attribution des ressources.

4. Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

L’honorable juge Malcom H. Rowe a été nommé juge à la Cour Suprême du Canada le 28 octobre 2016. Les incidences financières liées à cette nomination se sont révélées modestes au cours du troisième trimestre de l’exercice 2016-2017.

Il n’y a eu aucun autre changement significatif quant aux activités, au personnel et aux programmes du BRCSC pendant la période visée par le présent rapport.

Approbation des cadres supérieurs

Approuvé par :

 

Roger Bilodeau, c.r., registraire
Ottawa (Ontario)

Le 22 février 2017

 

 

Catherine Laforce, dirigeante principale des finances

 

État des autorisations (non vérifié)
(en dollars)

Exercice 2016-2017

Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2017* Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2016 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 50 - Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 25 555 822 5 346 870 16 434 344
Autorisations législatives budgétaires 9 890 737 2 455 837 6 545 877
Autorisations totales 35 446 559 7 802 707 22 980 221

 Exercice 2015-2016

Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2016* Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2015 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 50 - Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 23 399 911 5 023 366 15 148 477
Autorisations législatives budgétaires 9 459 097 2 992 536 6 977 371
Autorisations totales 32 859 008 8 015 902 22 125 848

* N'inclut que les Autorisations disponibles pour l'exercice et accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre.

Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant (non vérifié)
(en dollars)

Exercice 2016-2017

Dépenses Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2017 Dépenses durant le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2016 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Personnel 23 747 398 6 496 894 18 612 590
Transports et communications 1 681 419 178 820 791 969
Information 172 941 16 323 21 997
Services professionnels et spéciaux 4 082 904 516 449 1 395 270
Location 1 211 995 43 542 383 018
Services de réparation et d'entretien 324 287 28 248 65 669
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 2 235 867 331 113 830 871
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage 1 881 197 198 288 863 528
Autres subventions et paiements 108 551 (6 970) 15 309
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 35 446 559 7 802 707 22 980 221

 Exercice 2015-2016

Dépenses Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2016 Dépenses durant le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2015 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Personnel 23 080 264 6 266 615 18 112 203
Transports et communications 1 944 955 837 440 1 499 461
Information 235 042 24 236 40 796
Services professionnels et spéciaux 2 493 473 257 997 806 763
Location 1 118 775 138 352 413 070
Services de réparation et d'entretien 362 845 41 691 77 841
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 2 449 739 323 701 837 743
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage 1 133 494 126 161 332 855
Autres subventions et paiements 40 421 (291) 5 116
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 32 859 008 8 015 902 22 125 848