Executive Summary - Registry Branch Services

March 2007

Background

  • Staff at the Supreme Court of Canada's (SCC) Office of the Registrar have recently undertaken a performance measurement process designed to ensure clients receive excellent service within an environment of continuous improvement.
  • To this end, the Office of the Registrar engaged Phase 5 to conduct an on-line client satisfaction survey of recent Registry Branch clients. It is our understanding that this is a benchmark survey that will be used to track performance over time.

Research Objectives

  • The specific research objectives included:
    • To determine the level of client (i.e. counsel, agents and unrepresented litigants) satisfaction with various Registry Branch services and information, including assessment of the scope, quality, efficiency and effectiveness of the services and information provided.
    • To identify priority areas for improvement.
    • To establish a baseline measure and process for the conduct of an on-going on-line client satisfaction survey.

Approach

  • The overall approach to the work entailed the conduct of an on-line survey with 178 counsel, agents and Unrepresented litigants who appeared before the Supreme Court of Canada in 2006.
    • Client lists were provided to Phase 5 by the SCC. The list contained 299 counsel, agents and unrepresented litigants who had appeared before the Supreme Court of Canada in 2006. It is our understanding that this list included virtually all who fell into this category.
    • A letter from the Office of the Registrar was sent to all potential respondents to introduce the study.
    • This was followed by an email invitation from Phase 5 to all 299 potential respondents. This provided further information related to the research, a link to the survey as well as a password to ensure each participant participated only once.
    • Two reminder emails were sent to encourage response.
    • Responses were collected between February 1st and February 23rd, 2007.
    • Rate of completion was 60%.

Key Findings

Respondent Profile and Nature of Interaction with the Registry Branch

  • Registry Branch clients who answered the survey tend to:
    • have practiced law for more than 20 years (60%)
    • work for a private sector law firm (64%) or a provincial / municipal government (23%)
    • fall in the age range of 50 years or older (54%)
    • have the primary role as Counsel for most cases where they appeared before the SCC (89%)
    • have been involved in filing an application for leave to appeal two or more times (75%) – 26% were involved more than 10 times
    • have been involved in an appeal to the SCC two or more times (77%) – 25% were involved more than 10 times
  • Information related to appeals was the most commonly accessed service area by respondents (93%), followed by information related to applications for leave to appeal (85%), information about Court decisions (61%), information about motions (55%) and access to documents from the Court Records Office (30%).
  • The most commonly cited use for in-person counter services was to sign-in for hearings (88%). This was followed by, to a much lesser extent, filing documents (26%), consulting documents (15%) and requesting CPAC videos (15%).

Feedback on Registry Branch Services

  • The overall feedback from clients was very positive. In fact, 3 out of 4 respondents did not simply indicate satisfaction, but stated they were "very satisfied" with the service they received from the Registry Branch and virtually all respondents (99%) were "satisfied" or "very satisfied".
  • Overall satisfaction with "core" service areas was also extremely strong. Satisfaction was slightly higher for information related to appeals, information related to applications for leave to appeal and gaining access to Court Records. Satisfaction was still high, but slightly lower for information about Court decisions and information about motions.
    • It is interesting to note that respondents from larger law firms (16+ lawyers) indicated slightly higher levels of satisfaction with services overall and with information about motions. This may imply that counsel from smaller firms may have slightly different service needs and / or expectations.
  • However, there is room for improvement for specific activities within some of the core service areas.
    • Information related to applications for leave to appeal
      • There was strong agreement among respondents that they had enough information about the process and filing deadlines and to prepare their application. However, they were less likely to agree that the rules of the SCC related to leave for appeal are complete and clear - 1in 5 respondents did not agree.
    • Information related to appeals
      • There was strong agreement among respondents that they had enough information to prepare for Court, about the court process and filing deadlines and to prepare their appeal documents. However they were less likely to agree that they SCC rules relate to appeals are clear and complete – again 1 in 5 respondents did not agree.
  • A strong majority of respondents who used the guidelines for preparing the electronic copy of a factum on appeal agreed that they were clear and complete. However, 1 in 5 did not agree with these statements.
  • Virtually all (97%) of respondents were satisfied or very satisfied with the in-person counter services.
  • There was also strong support for the services provided by the Courts Record Office. Over 9 in 10 agreed that the information they requested was provided in a timely manner and that they got what they asked for.

Hours of Operation

  • Three quarters of respondents indicated they were satisfied with the hours of operation. Only 4% expressed clear dissatisfaction. Of these, most were satisfied with the current start time, but suggested a 6:30 pm EST closing time.

Communication Channels

  • The phone and on-line channels are the most important for accessing the range of services offered by the Registry Branch. They were consistently cited as the top 2 communication channels used to access Registry Branch core services. In addition email ranked third in all core service areas with the exception of accessing documents from the Courts Record Office.
  • The vast majority of respondents were satisfied with the channels used to contact the Registry Branch. However, respondents were most satisfied with the less frequently used channels i.e. in-person, mail and Fax channels and the on-line channel were consistently rated lower than other channels for all core service areas.

Registry Branch Staff

  • Feedback on Registry Branch staff was extremely positive with virtually all respondents (99%) stating they were satisfied or very satisfied and three quarters stating they were "very satisfied". It is important to emphasize that when participants were asked in an open-ended question to describe the strengths of the Registry Branch all those who responded to this question (100) cited staff as the key strength of the Registry Branch. Specific qualities emphasized were:
    • courteous staff;
    • accessible / approachable / available staff;
    • knowledgeable / informative staff;
    • efficient / responsive staff; and
    • quality of information provided.
  • When rated across a range of attributes staff ranked most highly for personal qualities such as courteous, availability and responsiveness. They were also ranked very highly in terms of being able to offer service in both official languages. They were rated slightly lower across knowledge attributes and going the extra mile to make sure clients got what they wanted. In the knowledge area, participants were least likely to agree that staff were knowledgeable about questions related to procedure on a motion.

The SCC Website

  • The SCC Website was well received with over 9 in 10 respondents indicating they were satisfied or very satisfied. However, the strength of the agreement was lower than other SCC service areas.
  • Most visitors to the site are frequent or seasoned visitors. Nearly all respondents (98%) had visited the site at least twice in the past year, almost ¾ had visited over 10 times and more than half had visited more than 20 times.
  • The most commonly cited reasons for visiting the SCC Website over the past year included searching for information on a particular case in SCC Case Information (88%), searching for information about applications for leave to appeal (84%) and reviewing the hearing schedule (75%). More than half had also visited the site for Supreme Court Act, rules and / or forms, for information on the appeal process and for case summaries.
  • Respondents were most likely to agree that they can rely on the information on the SCC site. Although the ratings are still high, they are least likely to agree that information provided is complete and is at the right level of detail. In fact, more detailed and up-to-date case information (e.g. factums) was the most commonly cited suggestion for improving the SCC Website.
  • Other suggested improvements included:
    • Making it easier to access information / better search function
    • Include enhanced functionality and interactive tools e.g. videos, live feed, ability to file on-line etc.
    • Push information to clients e.g. reminders for deadlines, other pertinent information

Recommendations

Services

  • Undertake steps to improve the completeness and clarity of the rules of the SCC related to applications for leave to appeal and appeals.
  • Undertake steps to improve the completeness and clarity of the guidelines for preparing the electronic copy of a factum on appeal.
  • Continue to offer the same level of service for in-person counter services and in the Courts Record Office.

Hours of Operation

  • There does not appear to be compelling evidence to alter the current hours of operation. As use of on-line channels increases, this will likely further mitigate the need for a change.

Communication Channels

  • Take steps to ensure the most frequently used channels, particularly the on-line channel, provide the same level of service as more traditional and admittedly less complex communication channels.

Registry Branch Staff

  • Staff should be recognized for the high level of service they provide.
  • Ensure staff have the knowledge they need to address clients questions, particularly in the area of procedure on a motion.

The SCC Website

  • A high percentage of visitors are coming to the site for similar reasons. Ensure high demand and traffic areas are well designed and fully address user needs. For example, ensure information in core areas (e.g. case information) is up-to-date and at the right level of detail.
  • There is an ongoing and strong relationship with the SCC user base – they rely on the site and are frequent visitors. Strengthening this relationship can be used not only to increase user satisfaction, but to address broader corporate goals. At the outset strengthen this relationship by offering interactive and personalized services e.g. pushing requested information to clients. In the longer term consider using the on-line channel as a tool to encourage dialogue or to support consultation initiatives.
  • Enhance the functionality and range of services provided by the SCC site. Start with services that compliment core and mandated activities e.g. electronic filing. Other considerations include videos and live feed. These suggested enhancements are not surprising as those in the legal community are familiar with, and used to, sophisticated on-line legal systems.

Résumé de l'étude - Services de la Direction générale du greffe

Mars 2007

Contexte

  • Des employés du Bureau du registraire de la Cour suprême du Canada (CSC) ont entamé récemment un processus de mesure du rendement ayant pour but de s'assurer que les clients reçoivent des services d'excellente qualité, dans un milieu faisant l'objet de constantes améliorations.
  • À cette fin, le Bureau du registraire a demandé à la société Phase 5 d'effectuer un sondage en ligne sur le niveau de satisfaction des clients ayant récemment fait appel aux services de la Direction générale du greffe. Le présent sondage devrait servir d'enquête de référence aux fins de suivi du rendement dans le futur.

Objectifs de l'étude

  • L'étude visait notamment les objectifs suivants :
    • déterminer le niveau de satisfaction des clients (c.-à-d. les avocats, les correspondants et les parties non représentées) à l'égard des divers services et renseignements offerts par la Direction générale du greffe, notamment en évaluant l'étendue, la qualité et l'efficacité des services et des renseignements fournis ;
    • cerner les choses devant être améliorées en priorité ;
    • établir les critères de base et mesures permettant de sonder en ligne de façon continue la satisfaction des clients.

Approche

  • La démarche générale suivie à consisté à effectuer un sondage en ligne auprès de 178 avocats, correspondants et parties non représentées ayant comparu devant la Cour suprême du Canada en 2006.
    • La CSC a fourni à Phase 5 une liste de clients comportant les noms de 299 avocats, correspondants et parties non représentées ayant comparu devant la CSC en 2006. Nous avons considéré que cette liste incluait pratiquement toutes les personnes appartenant à cette catégorie.
    • Le Bureau du registraire a envoyé une lettre à tous les répondants éventuels afin de leur présenter l'étude.
    • Phase 5 a ensuite envoyé une invitation par courriel à ces 299 répondants éventuels. Ce courriel expliquait l'étude plus en détail, donnait un lien vers le sondage et fournissait un mot de passe visant à faire en sorte que chaque répondant ne participe qu'une seule fois.
    • Deux courriels de rappel ont été transmis pour encourager les gens à répondre.
    • Les réponses ont été recueillies du 1er au 23 février 2007.
    • Le taux de participation a été de 60 %.

Principales conclusions

Profil des répondants et nature de leur relation avec la Direction générale du greffe

  • En général, les clients de la Direction générale du greffe qui ont répondu au sondage :
    • pratiquent le droit depuis plus de 20 ans (60 %) ;
    • travaillent dans un cabinet d'avocats du secteur privé (64 %) ou pour une administration provinciale ou municipale (23 %) ;
    • sont âgés de 50 ans et plus (54 %) ;
    • ont, dans la très grande majorité des cas, agi comme avocat dans la plupart des affaires auxquelles ils ont participé à la CSC (89 %) ;
    • ont participé à la présentation d'une demande d'autorisation d'appel deux fois ou plus (75 %), ou plus de 10 fois (26 %) ;
    • ont participé à un appel devant la CSC deux fois ou plus (77 %), ou plus de 10 fois (25 %).
  • Les demandes d'information sur les appels étaient le service le plus sollicité par les répondants (93 %). Viennent ensuite les demandes d'information sur les demandes d'autorisation d'appel (85 %), les demandes d'information sur les décisions de la Cour (61 %), les demandes d'information sur les requêtes (55 %) et les demandes d'accès aux documents de la Salle des dossiers de la Cour (30 %).
  • Le service le plus souvent mentionné pour expliquer le recours aux services au comptoir est l'inscription aux audiences (88 %). Viennent ensuite, dans des proportions beaucoup moins importantes, le dépôt de documents (26 %), la consultation de documents (15 %) et l'obtention de bandes vidéo de CPAC (15 %).

Rétroaction sur les services de la Direction générale du greffe

  • En général, la rétroaction des clients a été très positive. En fait, 3 répondants sur 4 ne se sont pas dit simplement satisfaits, mais plutôt « très satisfaits » des services reçus de la Direction générale du greffe. De plus, pratiquement tous les répondants (99 %) se sont dit « satisfaits » ou « très satisfaits ».
  • Le niveau de satisfaction générale à l'égard des services de base est lui aussi très élevé. Le niveau de satisfaction était un peu plus élevé en ce qui concerne les demandes d'information sur les appels, les demandes d'information sur les demandes d'autorisation d'appel et les demandes d'accès aux documents de la Salle des dossiers de la Cour. Pour ce qui est des demandes d'information sur les décisions de la Cour et les demandes d'information sur les requêtes, le niveau de satisfaction était également élevé, mais un peu moins que pour les autres services.
    • Il est intéressant de souligner que les répondants appartenant à de gros cabinets (16 avocats ou plus) ont indiqué des niveaux de satisfaction un peu plus élevés en ce qui concerne l'ensemble des services et les demandes d'information sur les requêtes. Cela pourrait signifier que les besoins et les attentes des avocats appartenant à de plus petits cabinets sont légèrement différents.
  • Cependant, certains aspects des services de base pourraient être améliorés.
    • Demandes d'information sur les demandes d'autorisation d'appel
      • La plupart des répondants s'accordaient pour dire qu'ils disposent d'assez d'information au sujet de la procédure et des délais de dépôt, et au sujet de la préparation de leur demande. Toutefois, ils étaient moins nombreux à estimer que les règles de la CSC concernant les autorisations d'appel sont complètes et claires. D'ailleurs, 1 répondant sur 5 s'est dit en désaccord avec cette affirmation.
    • Demandes d'information concernant les appels
      • La plupart des répondants s'accordaient pour dire qu'ils disposaient d'assez d'information pour se préparer en vue de l'audience, au sujet de la procédure de la Cour et des délais de dépôt, et pour établir leurs documents d'appel. Toutefois, ils étaient moins nombreux à estimer que les règles de la CSC concernant les appels étaient complètes et claires. D'ailleurs, 1 répondant sur 5 s'est dit en désaccord avec cette affirmation.
  • La grande majorité des répondants ayant utilisé les lignes directrices pour préparer un mémoire d'appel électronique estimaient que les lignes directrices étaient claires et complètes. Toutefois, 1 répondant sur 5 s'est dit en désaccord avec cette affirmation.
  • Pratiquement tous les répondants (97 %) étaient satisfaits ou très satisfaits des services au comptoir.
  • Les répondants sont aussi vivement satisfaits des services fournis par la Salle des dossiers de la Cour. Plus de 9 répondants sur 10 estimaient que l'information qu'ils cherchaient leur avait été fournie rapidement et qu'ils avaient obtenu ce qu'ils avaient demandé.

Heures d'ouverture

  • Les trois quarts des répondants se sont dit satisfaits des heures d'ouverture. Seulement 4 % des répondants ont clairement indiqué leur insatisfaction. La plupart de ceux-ci étaient satisfaits de l'heure à laquelle le Greffe ouvre actuellement, mais ont suggéré 18 h 30 HNE comme heure de fermeture.

Moyens de communication

  • Le téléphone et Internet sont les moyens de communication les plus importants pour accéder à l'éventail de services offerts par la Direction générale du greffe. Ils ont été cités de façon constante comme les deux moyens de communication les plus utilisés pour accéder aux services de base de la Direction. De plus, le courriel s'est retrouvé au troisième rang de tous les services de base, à l'exception de l'accès aux documents de la Salle des dossiers de la Cour.
  • La grande majorité des répondants étaient satisfaits des moyens utilisés pour communiquer avec la Direction générale du greffe. Toutefois, les répondants se sont dit extrêmement satisfaits des moyens de communication les moins utilisés c.-à-d. en personne, par la poste et par télécopieur. La communication en ligne a eu la pire cote de tous les moyens de communication, tous services de base confondus.

Employés de la Direction générale du greffe

  • La rétroaction sur les employés de la Direction générale du greffe était très positive. À peu près tous les répondants (99 %) ont indiqué qu'ils étaient satisfaits ou très satisfaits des employés, et les trois quarts des répondants ont indiqué qu'ils étaient très satisfaits. Il est important de souligner que lorsqu'on a demandé aux participants, dans une question ouverte, d'énoncer les forces de la Direction générale du greffe, tous ceux qui ont répondu à la question (100 répondants) ont indiqué que les employés constituaient la principale force de la Direction. Les qualités expressément mentionnées sont les suivantes :
    • des employés courtois ;
    • des employés disponibles / d'abord facile / à l'écoute ;
    • des employés bien informés, qui savent répondre aux questions ;
    • des employés efficaces / réceptifs ;
    • la fourniture d'information de qualité.
  • Dans une évaluation portant sur un large éventail de qualités, les cotes les plus élevées ont été attribuées aux qualités personnelles comme la courtoisie, la disponibilité et l'écoute. Les employés ont aussi reçu une excellente cote en ce qui concerne leur capacité d'offrir des services dans les deux langues officielles. Cependant, ils ont obtenu une cote un peu plus basse pour ce qui est des connaissances requises et du « petit effort supplémentaire » nécessaire pour répondre aux besoins des clients. En ce qui a trait aux connaissances, les répondants n'étaient pas tous d'accord pour dire que les employés savaient répondre aux questions concernant la procédure à suivre pour déposer une requête.

Le site Web de la CSC

  • Le site Web de la CSC est bien reçu. Plus de 9 répondants sur 10 ont dit en être satisfaits ou très satisfaits. Toutefois, le consensus était moins grand que pour d'autres services de la CSC.
  • La plupart des personnes qui visitent le site Web le font fréquemment ou sont des visiteurs aguerris. À peu près tous les répondants (98 %) ont visité le site au moins deux fois au cours de la dernière année. Près des trois quarts des répondants ont visité le site plus de 10 fois, et plus de la moitié des répondants l'ont visité à plus de 20 reprises.
  • Les raisons les plus souvent évoquées pour justifier les visites du site Web de la CSC au cours de la dernière année sont, entre autres, pour obtenir de l'information sur un dossier dans les Renseignement sur les dossiers de la CSC (88 %), pour obtenir de l'information sur les demandes d'autorisation d'appel (84 %) et pour consulter le calendrier des audiences (75 %). Plus de la moitié des répondants avaient aussi visité le site pour consulter la Loi sur la Cour suprême, les règles ou les formulaires, ou bien pour obtenir de l'information sur les procédures d'appel et pour consulter les résumés des instances.
  • La plupart des répondants estiment que l'information contenue dans le site de la CSC est fiable. Même s'ils ont bien coté cette question, les répondants n'étaient pas tous d'avis que les informations fournies étaient complètes et assez détaillées. En fait, la suggestion la plus souvent formulée pour améliorer le site Web de la CSC concernait le besoin d'information plus à jour et plus détaillée au sujet des instances (p. ex. les mémoires).
  • Parmi les autres améliorations suggérées, mentionnons les suivantes :
    • faciliter l'accès à l'information / améliorer la fonction de recherche ;
    • ajouter des fonctionnalités étendues et des outils interactifs (p. ex. des vidéos, des diffusions en direct, la possibilité de déposer des documents en ligne, etc.) ;
    • communiquer spontanément l'information aux clients (p. ex. des rappels concernant les délais et d'autres renseignements).

Recommandations

Services

  • Prendre les mesures nécessaires pour améliorer l'exhaustivité et la clarté des règles de la CSC concernant les demandes d'autorisation d'appel et les appels.
  • Prendre les mesures nécessaires pour améliorer l'exhaustivité et la clarté des lignes directrices à suivre pour préparer un mémoire d'appel électronique.
  • Continuer d'offrir le même niveau de service au comptoir et à la Salle des dossiers de la Cour.

Heures d'ouverture

  • Il ne semble pas y avoir d'élément décisif qui justifierait de modifier les heures d'ouverture. Au fur et à mesure que s'accroîtra l'utilisation des communications en ligne, le besoin de modifier les heures d'ouverture tendra vraisemblablement à diminuer.

Moyens de communication

  • Faire en sorte que les moyens les plus souvent utilisés, particulièrement Internet, répondent aux besoins des clients dans la même mesure que les moyens de communication plus traditionnels et, il est vrai, moins complexes.

Employés de la Direction générale du greffe

  • Il convient de reconnaître le très haut niveau de service fourni par les employés.
  • Il faut voir à ce que les employés possèdent toutes les connaissances requises pour répondre aux questions des clients, surtout en ce qui concerne la procédure à suivre pour déposer une requête.

Site Web de la CSC

  • Un important pourcentage des gens qui visitent le site le font sensiblement pour les mêmes raisons. Il faut veiller à ce que les pages les plus en demande et les plus consultées soient bien conçues et répondent à tous les besoins des utilisateurs. Par exemple, il faut veiller à ce que l'information sur les domaines de base (p. ex., l'information sur les instances) soit à jour et possède le degré de précision adéquat.
  • Une relation solide et continue est établie avec les utilisateurs. Ils font confiance au contenu du site et y reviennent fréquemment. Il faut renforcer cette relation, non seulement pour améliorer la satisfaction des utilisateurs, mais aussi pour atteindre des objectifs organisationnels plus importants. D'emblée, il faut renforcer la relation au moyen de services interactifs et personnalisés, p. ex. communiquer spontanément aux clients les informations demandées. À long terme, il faut envisager l'utilisation d'Internet comme un outil servant à favoriser le dialogue et à appuyer les initiatives de consultation.
  • Il faut améliorer la gamme des services fournis par le site de la CSC et le caractère fonctionnel de ceux-ci. D'abord, il faut travailler à l'amélioration des services qui complètent les activités de base et les activités obligatoires, p. ex. le dépôt électronique de documents. D'autres possibilités sont l'ajout de vidéos et de diffusions en direct. Il n'est pas surprenant de retrouver ces deux éléments parmi les améliorations suggérées, étant donné que les membres de la collectivité juridique sont habitués à utiliser des systèmes juridiques en ligne perfectionnés.