Access to Court Facilities, Media Briefings and Lock-ups

Media Access to the Court

The Supreme Court of Canada building is open to the public, including members of the media, on weekdays, from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Members of the public, including the media, are welcome to attend any hearing of an appeal except in those rare circumstances when legislation requires or a judge orders that a proceeding, or part of a proceeding, be held in private.

Upon advance request and subject to prior approval by the Court, members of the media may use the Grand Entrance Hall for interviews and filming relating to the Court's proceedings. Requests by members of the media for special use of the Grand Entrance Hall or set up outside normal hours should be made at least 24 hours in advance to the Executive Legal Officer.

Attendance at Hearings of Appeals

The Court hears appeals for two weeks each month from October through June. See the schedule for hearings for the current session.

A limited number of seats are reserved in the Courtroom for members of the media. Simultaneous translation in both official languages is available.

Audio recorders may be used in the Courtroom, but cameras are not permitted. The use of laptops and handheld devices such as Blackberries and cell phones is permitted, as long as the sound is turned off. The Court provides power outlets at the media seats as well as free wireless internet access. Members of the media may also watch the appeal from the Court's Press Room, which is equipped with a closed circuit television feed of the appeal (in both official languages) as it is being argued.

Press Room

The Court has a fully equipped Press Room featuring live, closed circuit television coverage of hearings, audio feeds in both official languages and facilities for using laptop computers. Reference copies of the factums (memoranda of argument) of the parties and interveners for the case(s) being heard that day are made available in the Press Room. In order to connect to the audio feed, a headset with a standard jack is required. The Court does not supply headsets.

The Press Room is located on the first floor adjacent to the Courtroom.

Release of Decisions of the Court

The decision of the Court is sometimes rendered at the conclusion of the hearing, but more often, judgment is reserved to enable the judges to write considered reasons. Decisions of the Court need not be unanimous; a majority may decide, with dissenting reasons given by the minority. Each judge may write reasons in any case if he or she chooses to do so.

When a judgment is delivered in a case reserved for decision, the parties are given notice and the formal judgment is deposited with the Registrar together with all the written opinions and a headnote (short summary of the case and the holdings of the judge(s) writing) in both official languages. Copies of the reasons for judgment may then be obtained at the Court Records Office. Reasons for judgment, in both official languages, are published in the Supreme Court Reports which are available for reference in the Court's Library, located on the third floor of the Supreme Court of Canada building.

Normally, decisions of the Court are released at 9:45 a.m. (Eastern Time). Advance notice of the release of decisions - in both appeals and in applications for leave to appeal - is given by news release. News releases announcing judgments include a direct link to the reasons for judgment. You may subscribe to Lexum's mailing list to receive notice of the release of judgments in appeals and in applications for leave to appeal. On a regular basis, if at least one document has been posted, you will receive an email message with a list of links to our documents. In addition, our judgments are also available on our Twitter accounts, in English (@SCC_eng) or in French (@CSC_fra).

Reasons for judgment are also available electronically in both English and French shortly after the decision has been released. Judgments can be searched on the Lexum site.

Media Briefings

Pre-Session Briefings

The Executive Legal Officer holds a pre-session briefing in the Court's Press Room at the beginning of each new session to give an overview of the issues in the cases to be heard. Notice of the pre-hearing briefing is given to the Canadian Parliamentary Press Gallery (CPPG), which in turn, provides notice to its members. Any member of the media who is not a member of the CPPG, may ask to have his or her name added to a mailing list for direct notice by informing the Executive Legal Officer.

Decisions on an Appeal

Whenever the Court issues reasons for decision on an appeal, a media briefing is held to assist members of the media to understand the reasons for decision. No briefing is held if a decision is rendered, without reasons, from the bench. Briefings are held in the Court's Press Room on the morning the decision is released. Copies of the reasons for judgment are distributed at the briefing. Copies of the factums (memoranda of argument) of the parties and interveners are available for reference in the Press Room.

Advance notice of media briefings is sent to the CPPG which informs its members. Media briefings are for information only and are not for attribution. Any member of the media who is not a member of the CPPG, may ask to have his or her name added to a mailing list for direct notice by informing the Executive Legal Officer.

Leave to Appeal Applications

No media briefing is held for decisions on applications for leave to appeal. Decisions on applications for leave to appeal are made public through news releases.

Lock-ups

The Court may, at its discretion, hold lock-ups for media and counsel immediately prior to the release of its judgments. The purpose of lock-ups is to facilitate accurate and informed reporting of the Court’s judgments. For further information, see the Court’s Judgment Lock-up Procedure and the related Notice to the Profession.

Accès aux installations de la Cour, aux séances d'information et aux huis clos

Accès des médias à la Cour

L'édifice de la Cour suprême du Canada est ouvert au public, y compris aux membres des médias, du lundi au vendredi, de 9 h à 17 h.

Le public et les médias peuvent assister à l'audition de tout appel, sauf dans les rares cas où l'audience, ou une partie de celle-ci, doit être tenue à huis clos parce que la loi l'exige ou qu'un juge l'ordonne.

Les médias peuvent utiliser le hall d'honneur pour mener des entrevues ou filmer des reportages à propos des audiences de la Cour, s'ils présentent une demande en ce sens à l'avance et que la Cour donne son autorisation. Les demandes en vue d'utiliser le hall d'honneur à des fins spéciales ou en dehors des heures normales doivent être présentées à la conseillère juridique principale au moins 24 heures à l'avance.

Présence à l'audition des appels

La Cour entend des appels pendant deux semaines chaque mois, d'octobre à juin. Voir le calendrier des audiences prévues pour la session en cours.

Un nombre limité de sièges sont réservés aux médias dans la salle d'audience. Des services d'interprétation simultanée dans les deux langues officielles sont offerts.

Les enregistreurs audio peuvent être utilisés dans la salle d’audience, mais il est interdit d’utiliser des caméras. Il est permis d’utiliser des ordinateurs portables et des appareils de poche, comme les blackberries et les téléphones cellulaires, à condition d’éteindre le son. Dans la section qui leur est réservée, les médias disposent de prises de courant et d'un accès sans fil Internet gratuit. Les membres des médias peuvent également suivre le déroulement de l'appel à partir de la salle de presse de la Cour, laquelle est équipée d'un système de télévision en circuit fermé (diffusant dans les deux langues officielles).

Salle de presse

La Cour dispose d'une salle de presse entièrement équipée, munie d'un système de télévision en circuit fermé permettant la diffusion des audiences en direct dans les deux langues officielles, ainsi que d'installations permettant l'utilisation d'ordinateurs portatifs. Des exemplaires de référence des mémoires (exposés des arguments) des parties et des intervenants pour les affaires entendues ce jour-là sont mis à la disposition des médias dans la salle de presse. Un casque d'écoute muni d'une fiche normale est requis pour se brancher à la prise audio. La Cour ne fournit pas les casques d'écoute.

La salle de presse est située au premier étage, près de la salle d'audience.

Diffusion des décisions de la Cour

Parfois, la décision de la Cour est rendue à la fin de l'audience, mais le plus souvent, l'affaire est mise en délibéré pour permettre aux juges de rédiger des motifs. Les décisions de la Cour n'ont pas besoin d'être unanimes; elles peuvent être rendues à la majorité, les juges minoritaires exposant des motifs de dissidence. Chaque juge qui entend une affaire est libre d'écrire des motifs s'il le désire.

Lorsqu'un jugement est rendu dans une affaire mise en délibéré, les parties reçoivent un avis et le jugement formel est déposé auprès du registraire avec l'ensemble des exposés des motifs et un sommaire (court résumé de l'affaire et des motifs exposés par les juges) dans les deux langues officielles. Il est ensuite possible d'obtenir une copie des motifs du jugement auprès de la Salle des dossiers de la Cour. Les motifs du jugement sont publiés dans les deux langues officielles dans le Recueil des arrêts de la Cour suprême du Canada, lequel peut être consulté à la bibliothèque de la Cour, qui est située au troisième étage de l'édifice de la Cour suprême du Canada.

Les décisions de la Cour sont normalement rendues publiques à 9 h 45 (heure de l'Est). Un préavis de la diffusion des décisions – pour les appels et les demandes d'autorisation d'appel – est donné au moyen d'un communiqué. Les communiqués annonçant les décisions comportent un lien direct vers les motifs de jugement. Vous pouvez vous abonner à la liste de diffusion de Lexum pour être informés de la publication des jugements sur appel et sur demande d’autorisation. Régulièrement, s'il y a eu l'ajout d'au moins un document, vous recevrez un courriel avec une liste de liens vers nos documents. De plus, nos jugements sont également disponibles sur nos comptes Twitter, en français (@CSC_fra) ou en anglais (@SCC_eng).

Les motifs des jugements sont aussi diffusés sur l'Internet en français et en anglais peu après le dépôt de la décision. Il est possible de consulter les jugements dans le site de Lexum.

Séances d'information à l'intention des médias

Séances d'information précédant les sessions de la Cour

Avant le début de chaque nouvelle session, la conseillère juridique principale tient une séance d'information dans la salle de presse de la Cour pour donner un aperçu des questions en litige dans les affaires qui seront entendues. Un avis annonçant la tenue de cette séance est envoyé à la Tribune de la presse parlementaire canadienne (TPPC), qui en informe à son tour ses membres. Les membres des médias qui ne font pas partie de la TPPC peuvent, en s'adressant à la conseillère juridique principale, demander que leur nom soit ajouté à une liste d'envoi leur permettant de recevoir directement les avis.

Décisions sur les appels

Chaque fois que la Cour dépose des motifs de jugement à l'égard d'un appel, une séance d'information est tenue à l'intention des médias pour les aider à bien comprendre les motifs de la décision. Il n'y a pas de séance d'information lorsque la décision est rendue à l'audience sans motifs. Les séances d'information ont lieu dans la salle de presse de la Cour le matin où la décision est déposée. Des copies des motifs de jugement sont distribuées lors de la séance d'information. Des copies des mémoires (exposés des arguments) des parties et des intervenants peuvent être consultées dans la salle de presse.

Un avis annonçant la tenue de ces séances d'information à l'intention des médias est transmis à la TPPC, qui en informe ensuite ses membres. Les séances d'information à l'intention des médias sont tenues à titre d'information seulement et les propos tenus par le responsable du briefing ne peuvent pas lui être attribués. Les membres des médias qui ne font pas partie de la TPPC peuvent, en s'adressant à la conseillère juridique principale, demander que leur nom soit ajouté à une liste d'envoi leur permettant de recevoir directement les avis.

Demandes d'autorisation d'appel

Aucune séance d'information à l'intention des médias n'est tenue pour les décisions sur les demandes d'autorisation d'appel. Les décisions sur les demandes sont rendues publiques par voie de communiqués.

Huis clos

La Cour peut, à sa discrétion, tenir des huis clos à l’intention des médias et des avocats juste avant la diffusion de ses jugements. Les huis clos visent à favoriser le compte rendu exact et éclairé des jugements de la Cour. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez la Procédure de huis clos ‎pour les jugements et l'Avis à la communauté juridique connexe.