The Day of the Hearing

This section contains important information related to the day of the hearing that you will need to know about, namely the start and check-in times for the hearing, the time allotted for oral argument, the need to speak clearly, and the broadcasting of the hearing.

Start Time

Hearings generally begin at 9:30 a.m. However, the Court frequently decides to start at 9:00 a.m. If it does so, you will be advised of this in advance.

Check-in Time

Counsel for both the morning and afternoon hearings must check in with the Registry by 8:00 a.m. if the day's hearings start at 9:00 a.m., or by 8:30 a.m. if the hearings begin at 9:30 a.m. Enter the Supreme Court of Canada building through the East entrance.

Before the Hearing

Once you have checked in, you will be assigned a locker for your personal items in the Barrister's Robing Room. You will have access to the Courtroom one hour before the hearing in order to set up. You may also go to the Library, which is located on the third floor; a comfortable lounge and a private meeting room are available there for counsel to use on hearing days. The meeting room is equipped with a telephone and has wireless Internet access. Additional tables are available in Room A of the Library. 

If you have reserved seating, you or your guests must claim your tickets from the Registry counter when you check in.   

Oral Argument

You are reminded to stay within your allotted time, which is generally one hour unless the Court orders or directs otherwise.  The counsel sheet will set out how much time each party has for oral argument. No more than two counsel for each appellant or respondent and one counsel for each intervener can present oral argument, and if two counsel are doing so for any party, they must share the time allotted to that party (Rules 71(1) and 71(5)).

Note that for your assistance, the lectern is equipped with a digital clock. Five minutes before your allotted time is over, the clock will turn green. Two minutes and a half before your allotted time is over, the clock will turn yellow. Once your time is over, the clock will turn red.

Need to Speak Clearly

Simultaneous translation services are provided at all appeal hearings, and transcripts will be produced later from the audio recordings of the proceedings and placed on the Court file. We ask, therefore, that you speak slowly and loudly into the microphone to facilitate the oral translation and the transcription of the hearing.

Broadcasting and Webcasting of Appeals

Public proceedings at the Supreme Court of Canada are digitally recorded. The Cable Public Affairs Channel (CPAC) televises and webcasts Supreme Court of Canada hearings. The Court also provides webcasts of all hearings provided that the digital recording of the appeal hearing is available and is not subject to any limitation on access by court order or law as set out in paragraph 3.2 of the Policy for Access to Supreme Court of Canada Court Records.  See also the Notice to the Profession dated October 2013.

The Office of the Registrar of the Supreme Court of Canada authorizes the copying, use and distribution of the recorded proceedings for any use which the Office of the Registrar considers appropriate.

Photographs

Note that when the Court is in session, no photographs can be taken. Counsel may take pictures after the hearing.

Other Useful Information

Le jour de l’audience

La présente section comporte des renseignements importants sur le déroulement de la journée, à savoir l'inscription préalable à l'audience, la période allouée pour la plaidoirie orale, la nécessité de s'exprimer clairement et la télédiffusion de l'audience.

Début de l'audience

L'audience commence en général à 9 h 30.  Toutefois, la Cour décide fréquemment de débuter à 9 h.  Si c'est le cas, vous en serez informé à l'avance.

Inscription

Les procureurs qui participent à l'audience du matin ou de l'après-midi doivent s'inscrire au greffe au plus tard à 8 h si l'audience commence à 9 h ou au plus tard à 8 h 30 si l'audience commence plus tard.  Veuillez entrer par la porte de l'est de l'édifice de la Cour suprême du Canada. Vous recevrez la clé d'un casier situé dans le vestiaire des avocats où vous pourrez déposer vos effets personnels.

Veuillez noter que, le jour de l’audience, seuls les avocats dont les noms figurent sur l’avis de comparution peuvent utiliser l’entrée de l’est de l’édifice.

Avant l'audience

Vous pourrez entrer dans la salle d'audience une heure avant l'audience pour vous installer. Vous pouvez également vous rendre à la bibliothèque, au troisième étage; un salon confortable est à la disposition des procureurs les jours d'audience. D'autres tables peuvent être utilisées dans la bibliothèque. 

Plaidoirie orale

On vous demande de respecter la période de plaidoirie qui vous aura été allouée, qui est en général d'une heure, à moins d'une ordonnance ou d'une directive contraire de la Cour.  La liste des procureurs indique la période dont dispose chaque partie.  Le nombre de procureurs admis à plaider est d'au plus un par intervenant et de deux par appelant et par intimé, auquel cas les deux procureurs se partagent la période de plaidoirie orale allouée à la partie (règles 71(1) et 71(5)).

Par souci de commodité, le lutrin est muni d'une horloge numérique dont le cadran tourne au vert cinq minutes avant la fin de la période de plaidoirie qui vous aura été allouée, puis au jaune deux minutes et demie avant la fin et finalement au rouge une fois la période terminée.

Nécessité de s'exprimer clairement

Des services d'interprétation sont offerts à toutes les audiences.  La transcription des débats est produite à une date ultérieure, à partir de l'enregistrement de l'audience, et versée au dossier d'instance.  Par conséquent, il importe de parler lentement et fort au micro pour faciliter l'interprétation simultanée et la transcription.

Télédiffusion et webdiffusion des audiences

Les audiences de la Cour suprême du Canada ouvertes au public sont enregistrées numériquement.  La Chaîne d'affaires publiques par câble (CAPC) télédiffuse et diffuse sur le Web les audiences de la Cour suprême du Canada. La Cour assure également la webdiffusion de toutes les audiences, dans la mesure où l'enregistrement numérique de l'audience est disponible et où l'accès à l'instance n'est assujetti à aucune restriction imposée par une ordonnance ou une règle de droit, ainsi que le précise le paragraphe 3.2 de la Politique sur l'accès aux documents judiciaires de la Cour suprême du Canada. Voir également l'avis à la communauté juridique daté d'octobre 2013.

Le Bureau du registraire de la Cour suprême du Canada autorise, pour toute fin qu'il considère convenable, la reproduction, l'utilisation et la distribution des enregistrements des audiences.

Photographies

Veuillez noter qu'il est interdit de prendre des photos pendant que la Cour siège. Les avocats qui comparaissent devant la Cour peuvent prendre des photos au lutrin et dans l’espace qui leur est alloué, une fois l’audience terminée. Les membres du public peuvent aussi prendre des photos après l’audience, mais uniquement à partir de la galerie du public.

Autres renseignements utiles

  • Dépôt d'un recueil condensé
  • Aucune place de stationnement n'est mise à la disposition des procureurs le jour de l'audience.
  • L'édifice de la Cour est adapté aux fauteuils roulants.
  • La Cour fournit des appareils d’aide à l’audition sur demande. Le cas échéant, veuillez communiquer auprès du Bureau du greffe dans un délai de 48 heures avant la date de l’audience.
  • Les avocats peuvent se restaurer à la cafétéria, située près de la porte de l'est.
  • Politique sur les places réservées et procédure de réservation