Disclosure of Travel and Hospitality Expenses (for the Registrar / Deputy Registrar)

Pursuant to sections 90.03 to 90.04 of the Access to Information Act

Bill C-58, An Act to amend the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act and to make consequential amendments to other Acts, received Royal Assent on June 21, 2019, thereby bringing into force important changes to openness and transparency in government. Bill C-58 adds a new part to the Access to Information Act that requires institutions to proactively publish specific information or documents that are known to be of interest to the public and which will provide greater transparency in relation to the use of public funds. These requirements apply, among others, to administrative institutions that support the courts.

The provisions of the Access to Information Act in relation to the institutions that support the courts came into force one year after Royal Assent, namely on June 21, 2020. As a result, there are changes in the manner in which the Office of the Registrar of the Supreme Court of Canada (ORSCC) is required to publish certain information relating to travel and hospitality expenses incurred with the Supreme Court of Canada by the Registrar and the Deputy Registrar.

The rules and principles governing travel are outlined in Treasury Board’s Travel Directive and Special Travel Authorities. The purpose of these directives is to provide for the reimbursement of reasonable expenses necessarily incurred during travel on government business.

The ORSCC extends hospitality in accordance with the rules and principles outlined in the Treasury Board Directive on Travel, Hospitality, Conference and Event Expenditures. The objective of the directive is to ensure that hospitality is extended in an economical and affordable way when it facilitates government business or is considered desirable as a matter of courtesy and protocol.

This first publication covers travel and hospitality expenses during the months of April, May and June 2020.

The information on this website will be updated every three months, as of July 31, 2020.

NOTE:  Past reports up to the quarter, December 2, 2019 to March 31, 2020 are available under Transparency.

Employees

Divulgation des frais de déplacement et d’accueil (registraire et registraire adjoint)

Conformément aux articles 90.03 et 90.04 de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information

Le projet de loi C-58, Loi modifiant la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, qui a reçu la sanction royale le 21 juin 2019, apporte d’importantes améliorations favorisant la responsabilité et la transparence du gouvernement. Le projet de loi C-58 ajoute à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information une nouvelle partie qui oblige les institutions fédérales à publier de façon proactive des renseignements et documents particuliers qui présentent de l’intérêt pour le public et qui accroîtront la transparence dans l’utilisation des fonds publics. Ces exigences s’appliquent, entre autres, aux institutions administratives qui soutiennent les tribunaux. 

Les dispositions de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information applicables à toutes les institutions qui appuient les tribunaux sont entrées en vigueur le 21 juin 2020, soit un an après la date de la sanction royale. Par conséquent, il y a des changements dans la manière dont le Bureau du registraire de la Cour suprême du Canada doit publier certains renseignements relatifs aux frais de déplacement et d’accueil engagés pour la Cour suprême du Canada par le registraire et le registraire adjoint.  

Les règles et principes régissant les déplacements gouvernementaux sont énoncés dans la Directive sur les voyages et dans les Autorisations spéciales de voyager du Conseil du Trésor. Ces directives prévoient le remboursement des frais raisonnables qui ont dû être engagés lors de déplacements pour le compte du gouvernement.

Le Bureau du registraire du la Cour suprême du Canada (BRCSC) permet la tenue d’activités d’accueil conformes aux règles et aux principes établis dans la Directive sur les dépenses de voyages, d'accueil, de conférences et d'événements du Conseil du Trésor. Cette directive vise à assurer la tenue d’activités d’accueil économiques et abordables lorsqu’elles facilitent les affaires du gouvernement et sont considérées comme souhaitables sur les plans de la courtoisie et du protocole.

Cette première publication fait état des frais de déplacement et d’accueil durant les mois d’avril, mai et juin 2020.

Les informations contenues dans ce site Web seront mises à jour à tous les trois mois, à compter du 31 juillet 2020.

NOTA : Les rapports antérieurs jusqu’au trimestre du 2 décembre 2019 au 31 mars 2020 sont disponibles sous Transparence.

Employés